Wisconsin's Ball Wins Doak Walker Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Wisconsin's Montee Ball, the NCAA all-time leader in touchdowns, was named the winner of the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's top running back. Ball led the conference in rushing yards for the second straight season with an average of 146.0 yards per contest in Big Ten games only. The senior standout also tied for the conference lead in scoring, marking the third straight year Ball has led the Big Ten in points, the first time a player has accomplished that feat since at least 1939. Ball becomes the sixth Big Ten running back and the second Badger standout to win the Doak Walker Award. Previous Big Ten Doak Walker Award winners are Ohio State's Eddie George (1995), Wisconsin's Ron Dayne (1999), Penn State's Larry Johnson (2002), Michigan's Chris Perry (2003) and Iowa's Shonn Greene (2008).

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/41459

Leave a comment