Seven Standouts Named to Midseason Watch Lists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Seven Big Ten standouts were named to midseason watch lists for various national honors on Thursday. Each list is comprised of 12 players, with the winners announced at the College Basketball Awards banquet on April 15.

Four student-athletes were selected to the Oscar Robertson Midseason Watch List, which is awarded annually to the national player of the year, more than any other conference. Indiana was one of two programs with two players named to the list in Victor Oladipo and Cody Zeller, while Michigan's Trey Burke and Ohio State's Deshaun Thomas were also selected to the midseason list. Six Big Ten players have been named the USBWA National Player of the Year, with Ohio State's Evan Turner the most recent recipient in 2010.

Three Big Ten players were chosen to the Wayman Tisdale Midseason Watch List, which is presented to the national freshman of the year. Michigan is one of two programs with multiple standouts selected to the list, with Glenn Robinson III and Nik Stauskas among the 12 selected, which also includes Indiana's Kevin (Yogi) Ferrell. Michigan's Chris Webber and Ohio State's Jared Sullinger won USBWA National Freshman of the Year in 1992 and 2011, respectively.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment