2012-13 Men's Swimming & Diving Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten men's swimming & diving season concluded at the NCAA Championships on March 30 at the IU Natatorium on the campus of Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) in Indianapolis, Ind., as Michigan won its Big Ten leading 12th NCAA title and first since 1995. The Wolverines also took home their third consecutive Big Ten Championship this season, earning 899 points at the meet.

NCAA Championship Central: Michigan won its Big Ten leading 12th NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships title and first since 1995 on March 30 on the campus of Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) in Indianapolis, Ind. The Wolverines totaled 480 team points en route to the national title, while ninth-place Indiana finished in the top 10 with 201 points. Michigan had 27 top-10 finishes on the way to the crown, including individual titles from Connor Jaeger in the 500 freestyle and 1,650 freestyle and the Wolverines' 200 medley relay team consisting of Miguel Ortiz, Bruno Ortiz, Sean Fletcher and Zach Turk. Wisconsin's Andrew Teduits also won a national title, taking the 200 backstroke crown. To read more about the Big Ten in the NCAA Championships, click here and here.

NCAA Championship Qualifiers: Fifty-four Big Ten student-athletes from all 10 men's swimming & diving teams represented the conference at the 2013 NCAA Championships in Indianapolis, Ind., March 28-30. The list of Big Ten qualifiers can be found here.

Bringing Home the Hardware: The conference office announced the 2013 Big Ten Men's Swimmer and Diver of the Year award winners on Tuesday, April 2 as voted on by the conference coaches. Michigan's Connor Jaeger captured Swimmer of the Year honors, while Indiana's Darian Schmidt took home Diver of the Year accolades. To read the complete release, click here.

Winning Wolverines: Michigan won the 2013 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships, which were held at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center on the campus of Indiana University, Feb. 27-March 2. The title marked the Wolverines' third consecutive crown and 37th title overall. Michigan amassed 899 points and took home seven individual titles and all five relay titles over the four-day event. Indiana finished second with 664 points and Ohio State was third with 470 points. Minnesota tallied 378 points, while Purdue compiled 328 points to round out the top five in the final team standings. To read more on the Big Ten Championships click here and here.

And the Awards Go To: Following the conclusion of the Big Ten Championships, Michigan Head Coach Mike Bottom picked up Swimming Coach of the Year laurels for the third consecutive year, while Wolverine Dylan Bosch was named Freshman of the Year. Indiana's Cody Miller claimed Swimmer of the Championships honors, while teammate Darian Schmidt shared Co-Diver of the Championships accolades with Ohio State's Shane Miszkiel. Indiana's Jeff Huber was named Diving Coach of the Year for the second year in a row. For more on the awards and a complete list of All-Big Ten honorees, click here.

Academic Excellence: On March 27, the Big Ten Conference recognized 620 winter sport student-athletes who had been named to the Academic All-Conference team, including 124 from men's swimming & diving teams. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. To read more on the Academic All-Conference team, click here

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/45286

Leave a comment