2012-13 Women's Swimming & Diving Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten women's swimming & diving season concluded at the NCAA Championships on March 23 at the IU Natatorium on the campus of Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) in Indianapolis, Ind. Minnesota recorded 141 team points at the championships, leading the Big Ten with a 10th place finish. The Golden Gophers also took home their second consecutive Big Ten Championship this season, earning 831.5 points at the meet.

NCAA Championship Central: Minnesota recorded 141 team points at the championships, leading the Big Ten with a 10th-place finish. The Golden Gophers were followed by No. 11 Indiana (115), No. 15 Wisconsin (65), No. 19 Purdue (44), No. 28 Ohio State (22) and No. 29. Penn State (21) in the top 30. The Championships were highlighted by three Big Ten student-athletes placing in the top 10 of the 3-meter diving event. Purdue's Casey Matthews took home the 3-meter crown, while fellow Boilermaker Michelle Cabassol placed fourth and Minnesota's Maggie Keefer tallied a sixth-place finish. Keefer also earned a second-place effort in the 1-meter. Minnesota's Haley Spencer recorded her second-straight second-place finish in the 200 breaststroke, while Indiana's Brooklynn Snodgrass was third in the 100 backstroke and Lindsay Vrooman was third in the 1,650 freestyle. To read more about the Big Ten in the NCAA Championships, click here.

NCAA Championship Qualifiers: Forty-eight Big Ten student-athletes from nine women's swimming & diving teams represented the conference at the 2013 NCAA Championships in Indianapolis, Ind., March 21-23. The list of Big Ten qualifiers can be found here.

Bringing Home the Hardware: The conference office announced the 2013 Big Ten Women's Swimmer and Diver of the Year award winners on Tuesday, March 26, as voted on by the conference coaches. Indiana's Lindsay Vrooman captured Swimmer of the Year honors, while Minnesota's Maggie Keefer took home Diver of the Year accolades. To read the complete release, click here.

The Gophers are Golden: Minnesota won the 2013 Big Ten Women's Swimming and Diving Championships, which were held at the University Aquatic Center on the campus of the University of Minnesota, Feb. 20-23. The title marks the Golden Gophers' second consecutive crown and fifth title overall. Minnesota amassed 831.5 points and took home six individual titles and three relay titles over the four-day event. Indiana finished second with 671.5 points and Penn State was third with 498.5 points. Ohio State tallied 384 points, while Purdue compiled 363 points to round out the top five in the final team standings. To read more on the Big Ten Championships click here and here

And the Awards Go To: Following the conclusion of the Big Ten Championships, Minnesota Head Coach Kelly Kremer picked up Swimming Coach of the Year laurels for the second consecutive year, while the Gophers' Wenbo Chen was named Diving Coach of the Year. Minnesota junior Maggie Keefer was tabbed Diver of the Championships for the second consecutive season. Indiana's Lindsay Vrooman claimed Swimmer of the Championships honors, while Hoosier teammate Brooklynn Snodgrass earned Freshman of the Year accolades. For more on the awards and a complete list of All-Big Ten honorees, click here.

Academic Excellence: On March 27, the Big Ten Conference recognized 620 winter sport student-athletes who had been named to the Academic All-Conference team, including a sport-high 211 from women's swimming & diving teams. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. To read more on the Academic All-Conference team, click here

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/45285

Leave a comment