Big Ten Wrestling Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Third Times a Charm: Penn State won its third NCAA Wrestling Championships title in as many seasons after picking up two individual weight class titles. The Nittany Lions totaled 123.5 team points en route to the national title, while third-place Minnesota and fourth-place Iowa finished in the top five with 103 and 73 points, respectively. The Nittany Lions' Ed Ruth (184 pounds) and Quentin Wright (197) each won titles to push Penn State to the national crown, while Illinois' Jesse Delgado (125), Ohio State's Logan Stieber (133), Iowa's Derek St. John (157) and Minnesota's Tony Nelson (285) also won national championships on Saturday to give the Big Ten six of the 10 individual champions. PENN STATE RECAP

All-America Awards: Over a third of the All-America honors awarded at the NCAA Championships were given to Big Ten wrestlers, as the conference grapplers earned 29 of the 80 accolades. Minnesota led the way with eight wrestlers who were tabbed All-Americans after placing in the top eight in their respective weight classes, followed by Penn State with five and Iowa with four. Illinois and Ohio State each placed three in the top eight, while Nebraska and Northwestern each had two and Purdue and Wisconsin had one. Click HERE to see the full list.

Penn State Claims Third Consecutive Big Ten Championship: Penn State won its third straight Big Ten Wrestling Championships title, claiming first place with a score of 151. The Nittany Lions claimed four individual titles en route to the conference championship. Minnesota finished in second place with 139 points, while Iowa took third with 133.5. Fourth-place Ohio State (109.5 points) and fifth-place Illinois (85.5 points) rounded out the top five. Click HERE for the full release.

All-Big Ten, Individual Award Winners Announced:
The 2013 All-Big Ten team, along with the conference's individual award winners, were announced following the conclusion of the Big Ten Championships. Penn State's Ed Ruth was named the Big Ten Wrestler of the Year, while Nittany Lion head coach Cael Sanderson and Minnesota's J Robinson shared Coach of the Year honors. Wisconsin's Connor Medbery was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Illinois' Jesse Delgado was named Wrestler of the Championships. Earning spots on the All-Big Ten team after winning their respective weight class titles were Illinois' Delgado (125), Minnesota's Dylan Ness (149) and Tony Nelson (285), Northwestern's Jason Welch (157), Ohio State's Hunter Stieber (141) and Logan Stieber (133) and Penn State's Matt Brown (174), Ruth (184), David Taylor (165) and Quentin Wright (197).

Hawkeyes Claim Big Ten Dual-Meet Title: Iowa finished with a perfect 8-0 record in conference duals en route to the Big Ten regular season dual-meet title. Click HERE on the Hawkeyes' dual-meet title.

Gophers Win National Duals Championship: Minnesota won its second consecutive NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals championship, emerging victorious from the 32-team field. The Golden Gophers defeated Virginia Tech (28-8), Iowa (22-15) and Oklahoma State (28-9) en route to the title. Click HERE to read more on the Gophers' National Duals title.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment