2012-13 Men's Tennis Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Blaz is Best: Ohio State's Blaz Rola took home the NCAA Singles Championship on Monday, May 27, at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Compex/Atkins Tennis Center in Urbana, Ill. The Buckeye defeated Virginia's Jarmere Jenkins, 7-6 (8), 6-4 to claim the crown. The junior becomes Ohio State's first NCAA singles champion and adds the title to a list of impressive career achievements, including winning the 2012 NCAA Doubles Championship with Chase Buchanan. For more on Big Ten student-athletes in the NCAA Singles & Doubles Championships, click here and here.

Teams in the Tournament: Six Big Ten teams were selected to the NCAA Championships, it was announced on Tuesday, April 30. Illinois, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern and Ohio State earn earned berths to the national tournament. The Illini, Gophers and Wildcats each won their first-round contests, while the Buckeyes advanced to the national semifinals. Click here and here for more on Big Ten teams in the NCAA Tournament.

Academic All-District: For the second consecutive season, Illinois' Bruno Abdelnour and Iowa's Garrett Dunn were named to the Capital One Academic All-District team, it was announced on Thursday, May 16. The Academic All-District team recognized the nation's top student-athletes for their performances in the classroom and athletically. The complete list of Big Ten honorees can be found here.

Tournament Titans: Top-seeded Ohio State won the 2013 Big Ten Men's Tennis Tournament title on Sunday, April 28, after earning a 4-0 win over third-seeded Michigan to clinch the tournament crown and earn the conference's automatic berth to the NCAA Championships. The Buckeyes did not give up a point in their three tournament matches, picking up three consecutive 4-0 wins en route to the crown. Ohio State earned the doubles point and an early 1-0 lead with victories at the No. 1 and 3 doubles positions. Ohio State claimed wins in the No. 3, 5 and 6 singles slots. Click here for more on the Big Ten Tournament.

And the Awards Go To: The Big Ten All-Conference teams and individual award winners were announced on Thursday, April 25, at the Big Ten Tournament banquet. Michigan's Evan King was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Illinois' Jared Hiltzik earned Freshman of the Year honors and Ohio State's Ty Tucker picked up Coach of the Year laurels. For more on the Big Ten's honorees, click here.

Eight is Great: With its win over Michigan on Sunday, April 21, Ohio State claimed the outright conference title, its eighth consecutive Big Ten Championship, and the No. 1 seed in the conference tournament. The top-seeded Buckeyes closed the regular season with an 11-0 record in Big Ten play and a 28-2 overall mark. Click here and here to read more about Ohio State's Big Ten title.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/46349

Leave a comment