2013 Big Ten Baseball Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Historic Hoosiers: Indiana earned a spot in the College World Series after completing a two-game sweep of Florida State, defeating the Seminoles, 11-6, in Super Regional action. The Hoosiers advanced to their first season-ending event, becoming the first Big Ten team since Michigan in 1984 to advance to the College World Series. For more information, click HERE.

Two Selected to NCAA Tournament: Illinois and Indiana were selected to the 2013 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, marking the second straight season that two Big Ten teams were chosen to the field. The Hoosiers earned the Big Ten's automatic bid after winning the conference tournament and are a No. 1 seed, hosting Regional play in Bloomington, Ind. Illinois earned an at-large selection and are the No. 3 seed in the Nashville Regional. For complete coverage of each team in the CWS, click HERE.

Crown Em': Indiana won its first Big Ten Championship since 1949 finishing 17-7 in conference play. The Hoosiers also took home the Big Ten Tournament title, winning 4-3 against Nebraska at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minn. For more information on the Big Ten Tournament, click HERE.

All #B1G Performers: The Big Ten announced the 2013 baseball individual award winners and All-Conference teams on May 21. Illinois' Justin Parr was named Player of the Year and Kevin Duchene earned Freshman of the Year honors, while Indiana's Aaron Slegers was tabbed Pitcher of the Year and Tracy Smith took home Coach of the Year laurels. For the full release, click HERE.

National Recognition: Illinois' Justin Parr earned first-team All-American laurels from Collegiate Baseball Newspaper and second-team accolades from Baseball America, while Indiana's Kyle Schwarber earned second-team honors from both outlets and was named the NCBWA District V Player of the Year. The Illini's Kevin Duchene, the Hoosiers' Scott Effross, Michigan's Jacob Cronenworth and Travis Maezes and Purdue's Josh Estill earned Freshman All-America accolades from Collegiate Baseball Newspaper, while Cronenworth earned first-team honors from the NCBWA.

It's Academic: Minnesota's Troy Larson was named a 2013 CoSIDA Academic All-American. Larson was named to the second team and is among a group of 100 baseball standouts to earn Academic All-Conference honors. For more information on Academic All-Big Ten Honorees, click HERE.

Next Level: A total of 23 Big Ten student-athletes were chosed in the 2013 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft. Minnesota starting pitcher Tom Windle was taken 56th overall by the Los Angeles Dodgers in Round 2, nine conference players were then taken in Rounds 3-10, eight went from Rounds 11-25, while three were drafted in Rounds 26-40.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/46733

Leave a comment