Eight Big Ten Players Named to Thorpe Award Watch List

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Eight Big Ten standouts were named to the Jim Thorpe Award watch list on Friday, which is tied for the lead among all conferences.

The Jim Thorpe Award is presented to the best defensive back in college football, given annually since 1986. Big Ten players have claimed five Thorpe Awards--Michigan's Charles Woodson in 1997, Antoine Winfield in 1998, Minnesota's Tyrone Carter in 1999, Wisconsin's Jamar Fletcher in 2000 and Ohio State's Malcolm Jenkins in 2008.

The list of Big Ten players on the Thorpe Award watch list can be found below:

Darqueze Dennard, MSU
Isaiah Lewis, MSU
Ciante Evans, NEB
Ibraheim Campbell, NU
C.J. Barnett, OSU
Christian Bryant, OSU
Bradley Roby, OSU
Ricardo Allen, PUR

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/46831

Leave a comment