Eleven Big Ten Standouts Named to Rimington Trophy and John Mackey Award Watch Lists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Eleven Big Ten student-athletes have been named to watch lists for the Rimington Trophy and John Mackey Award, it was announced today.

The Rimington Trophy, named after Nebraska's Dave Rimington, is presented annually to the most outstanding center in college football. Big Ten institutions have claimed six Rimington trophies, the most of any conference, most recently with 2011 honoree David Molk of Michigan. Past winners include Nebraska's Dominic Raiola (2000), Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley (2001), Michigan's David Baas (2004), Minnesota's Greg Eslinger (2005) and Penn State's A.Q. Shipley (2008).

Since 2000, the Mackey Award has been given annually to the most outstanding tight end. Three Big Ten players, Purdue's Tim Stratton (2000), Iowa's Dallas Clark (2002) and Minnesota's Matt Spaeth (2006) have claimed the Mackey Award.

The Mackey Award Midseason Watch List will be revealed Oct. 14, while the semifinalists will be released on Nov. 18 and the finalists will be announced Nov. 25. The Rimington Trophy award winner will be revealed on Jan. 11. 

The complete list of Big Ten players can be found below:

Rimington Trophy
Travis Jackson, MSU
Cole Pensick, NEB
Brandon Vitabile, NU
Corey Linseley, OSU

Mackey Award
Ted Bolser, IND
C.J. Fiedorowicz, IOWA
Devin Funchess, MICH
Jeff Heuerman, OSU
Kyle Carter, PSU
Gabe Holmes, PUR
Jacob Pedersen, WIS

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/46794

Leave a comment