Five Big Ten Players Named to Hornung Award Watch List

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Five Big Ten football standouts were named to the 2013 Watch List for the Paul Hornung Award, given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. Big Ten standouts on the watch list are Nebraska's Ameer Abdullah, Northwestern's Venric Mark, Ohio State's Corey Brown, Purdue's Akeem Hunt and Wisconsin's Jared Abbrederis. Mark, Adbullah and Hunt each ranked among the Big Ten's top 10 in all-purpose yards per game last year. Mark led the conference with 167.0 all-purpose yards per contest, while also rating among the top 10 in rushing, kickoff returns and scoring. Abdullah was fourth in all-purpose yards and among the top 10 in rushing and kickoff returns while Hunt was sixth in all-purpose yards and kickoff returns. Abbrederis and Brown both rated among the top five in the Big Ten in receiving last season. Abbrederis was third with 64.4 receiving yards per game and fourth in punt returns, while Brown was fourth with 5.0 receptions per outing, led the conference with 12.3 yards per punt return and was also seventh in receiving yards. The Hornung Award was first granted in 2010.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment