Nineteen Big Ten Standouts Named to Butkus, Lombardi Watch Lists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Nineteen Big Ten standouts were named to the Butkus and Lombardi watch lists, it was announced on Monday. Iowa's Anthony Hitchens, Michigan State's Max Bullough, Ohio State's Ryan Shazier and Wisconsin's Chris Borland were honored on both lists.

The Butkus Award is given annually to the nation's top linebacker. Big Ten institutions have claimed nine Butkus Awards, most recently with 2007 honoree James Laurinaitis of Ohio State. Past winners include Michigan State's Percy Snow (1989), Michigan's Erick Anderson (1991), Nebraska's Trev Alberts (1993), Illinois' Dana Howard (1994) and Kevin Hardy (1995), Ohio State's Andy Katzenmoyer (1997) and Penn State's LaVar Arrington (1999) and Paul Posluszny (2005).

Since 1970, the Lombardi Award has been awarded to the nation's most outstanding lineman. Big Ten institutions have earned 14 Lombardi Awards, most recently with 2009 recipient Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska. Past winners include Ohio State's Jim Stillwagon (1970), Nebraska's Rich Glover (1972), Ohio State's John Hicks (1973), Penn State's Bruce Clark (1978), Nebraska's Dave Rimington (1982 and 1983), Ohio State's Chris Spielman (1987), Michigan State's Percy Snow (1989), Ohio State's Orlando Pace (1995 and 1996), Nebraska's Grant Winstrom (1997), Ohio State's A.J. Hawk (2005) and Michigan's LaMarr Woodley (2006).

The list of Big Ten players named to the watch lists can be found below:

Butkus Award
Jonathan Brown, ILL
Anthony Hitchens, IOWA
Christian Kirksey, IOWA
James Morris, IOWA
Max Bullough, MSU
Ryan Shazier, OSU
Glenn Carson, PSU
Chris Borland, WIS

Lombardi Award
Anthony Hitchens, IOWA
Taylor Lewan, MICH
Jake Ryan, MICH
Max Bullough, MSU
Ra'Shede Hageman, MINN
Spencer Long, NEB
Jeremiah Sirles, NEB
Tyler Scott, NU
Brandon Vitabile, NU
Andrew Norwell, OSU
Ryan Shazier, OSU
John Urschel, PSU
Chris Borland, WIS
David Gilbert, WIS
Ryan Groy, WIS

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment