Nineteen Big Ten Standouts Named to Maxwell and Bednarik Awards Watch Lists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Nineteen Big Ten student-athletes have been named to watch lists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards, the Maxwell Football Club announced today.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's most outstanding collegiate football player since 1937. Ohio State's Braxton Miller was named a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award last season. Twenty student-athletes from Big Ten institutions have earned the Maxwell Award, most recently when the Big Ten was honored three out of four years in 1999 (Wisconsin's Ron Dayne), 2000 (Purdue's Drew Brees) and 2002 (Penn State's Larry Johnson).

The Bednarik Award, named after Chuck Bednarik, has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. Eight players from Big Ten institutions have earned Bednarik Awards, including two-time honorees Pat Fitzgerald of Northwestern (1995 and 1996) and Paul Posluszny of Penn State (2005 and 2006). Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh is the most recent honoree in 2009.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced October 29, while finalists will be revealed November 25.

The complete list of Big Ten players can be found below.

Maxwell Award

Devin Gardner, MICH
Taylor Lewan, MICH
Ameer Abdullah, NEB
Taylor Martinez, NEB
Venric Mark, NU
Carlos Hyde, OSU
Braxton Miller, OSU
Zach Zwinak, PSU
James White, WIS

Bednarik Award
Jonathan Brown, ILL
James Morris, IOWA
Ra'Shede Hageman, MINN
Max Bullough, MSU
Darqueze Dennard, MSU
C.J. Barnett, OSU
Bradley Roby, OSU
Ryan Shazier, OSU
Deion Barnes, PSU
Chris Borland, WIS

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment