Seven Big Ten Players Named Candidates for Doak Walker Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Seven Big Ten players were named candidates for the Doak Walker Award, it was announced on Thursday. Former Wisconsin standout Montee Ball won the award last season, while Northwestern's Venric Mark was tabbed a candidate after appearing as a semifinalist for the award last season.

Since 1990, the Doak Walker Award has been presented annually to the nation's top running back. Big Ten players have claimed six Walker Awards - Ohio State's Eddie George (1995), Wisconsin's Ron Dayne (1999), Penn State's Larry Johnson (2002), Michigan's Chris Perry (2003), Iowa's Shonn Greene (2008) and Wisconsin's Ball (2012).

The list of Big Ten candidates for the Doak Walker Award can be found below.

Mark Weisman, IOWA
Ameer Abdullah, NEB
Venric Mark, NU
Carlos Hyde, OSU
Zach Zwinak, PSU
Melvin Gordon, WIS
James White, WIS

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment