Twenty-Three Big Ten Players Selected to Nagurski, Outland Watch Lists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Twenty-three Big Ten standouts were named to the Nagurski and Outland watch lists, it was announced on Thursday. Minnesota's RaShede Hageman represents the conference on both lists.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented annually to the National Defensive Player of the Year. Big Ten institutions have earned five Nagurski Trophies - Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald in 1995 and 1996, Michigan's Charles Woodson in 1997, Ohio State's James Laurinaitis in 2006 and Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009.

Presented annually since 1946, the Outland Trophy is the third-oldest award in major college football, given to the nation's best interior lineman. Big Ten institutions have claimed 23 Outland Trophies, the most of any conference, including two of the last three recipients, Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Wisconsin's Gabe Carimi in 2010.

The list of Big Ten players on the Nagurski and Outland watch lists can be found below:

Nagurski Trophy
Jonathan Brown, ILL
James Morris, IOWA
Max Bullough, MSU
Darqueze Dennard, MSU
Marcus Rush, MSU
Ra'Shede Hageman, MINN
Tyler Scott, NU
Christian Bryant, OSU
Bradley Roby, OSU
Ryan Shazier, OSU
Deion Barnes, PSU
Ricardo Allen, PUR
Chris Borland, WIS

Outland Trophy
Taylor Lewan, MICH
Ra'Shede Hageman, MINN
Spencer Long, NEB
Jeremiah Sirles, NEB
Brandon Vitabile, NU
Jack Mewhort, OSU
Andrew Norwell, OSU
DaQuan Jones, PSU
John Urschel, PSU
Ryan Groy, WIS

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment