Eight Big Ten Standouts Named Candidates for National Scholar-Athlete Awards

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Eight Big Ten student-athletes were among 54 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) players to be named candidates for the 2013 National Football Foundation (NFF) National Scholar-Athlete Awards and semifinalists for the NFF William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation. Big Ten honorees are Illinois' Nathan Scheelhaase, Iowa's James Morris, Michigan's Courtney Avery, Michigan State's Max Bullough, Minnesota's Aaron Hill, Nebraska's Spencer Long, Penn State's John Urschel and Purdue's Rob Henry. Candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The NFF Awards Committee will announce up to 16 players as members of the 2013 National Scholar-Athlete Class on Oct. 31, with recipients earning an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. The National Scholar-Athlete Class honorees will also be finalists for the Campbell Trophy, which will be announced Dec. 10. Four student-athletes from Big Ten schools have won the Campbell Trophy - Nebraska's Rob Zatechka (1994) and Kyle Vanden Bosch (2000) and Ohio State's Bobby Hoying (1995) and Craig Krenzel (2003).

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/48670

Leave a comment