Four Big Ten Standouts Earn National Scholar-Athlete Awards

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame named 16 recipients of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, including four Big Ten honorees - Iowa's James Morris, Michigan State's Max Bullough, Nebraska's Spencer Long and Penn State's John Urschel. The Big Ten quartet was selected from a nationwide pool of 171 student-athletes, representing all NCAA divisions as well as the NAIA. The four Big Ten student-athletes are now finalists for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation. The NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program, launched in 1959, is the first initiative in history to award scholar-athletes postgraduate scholarships for their combined athletic, academic and leadership abilities. Nebraska's Rex Burkhead and Northwestern's Patrick Ward earned NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards last season. Two Big Ten standouts have won the Campbell Trophy - Ohio State's Bobby Hoying in 1995 and Craig Krenzel in 2003.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment