Two Big Ten Linebackers Named Semifinalists for Butkus Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Ohio State's Ryan Shazier and Wisconsin's Chris Borland were named semifinalists for the Butkus Award, given annually to the nation's outstanding linebacker. Both players currently lead their team in tackles, with Shazier ranking sixth in the Big Ten with 8.2 stops per game and Borland tied for seventh in the conference with 8.1 tackles per outing. Shazier is also tied for third in the Big Ten with 9.0 tackles for loss. Nine standouts from current Big Ten schools have claimed the Butkus Award, most recently when the Buckeyes' James Laurinaitis was honored in 2007. The Butkus Award is named for former Illinois linebacker Dick Butkus, who was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1979 following an illustrious career with the Chicago Bears.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment