Week 8 Stat Breakdown

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Rushers: Six Big Ten rushers recorded 100 or more yards on the ground, led by Michigan's Fitzgerald Toussaint with 151 yards and four touchdowns against Indiana. Other Big Ten players to surpass the 100-yard mark were the Ohio State duo of Carlos Hyde (149 yards, two TDs) and Braxton Miller (102 yards), Wisconsin's Melvin Gordon (142 yards, three TDs), Michigan State's Jeremy Langford (131 yards) and Minnesota's David Cobb (103 yards).

Passing: Four Big Ten signal callers threw for more than 240 yards, led by a school-record 503-yard effort with two touchdowns by Michigan's Devin Gardner. The 503-yard outing ranks just outside the top 10 single-game performances in Big Ten history. Other conference quarterbacks with more than 240 passing yards were Indiana's Tre Roberson (288 yards, three TDs), Illinois' Nathan Scheelhaase (249 yards) and Iowa's Jake Rudock (245 yards, three TDs).

Receiving: Seven Big Ten players caught seven more passes or totaled 100 or more receiving yards, led by Michigan's Jeremy Gallon with a conference single-game record 369 receiving yards on 14 catches with two touchdowns against Indiana. Gallon's 369 receiving yards mark the second-highest single-game total in Football Bowl Subdivision history, and breaks the Big Ten mark of 301 yards through the air set by Purdue's Chris Daniels in 1999. Other Big Ten wideouts to surpass the 100-yard mark were Iowa's Jake Duzey (138 yards, one TD), Indiana's Kofi Hughes (138 yards, one TD), Wisconsin's Jared Abbrederis (106 yards) and Illinois' Steve Hull (105 yards). In addition, Northwestern's Tony Jones hauled in eight catches for 84 yards and one touchdown, while Ohio State's Devin Smith caught seven passes for 72 yards and one score.

Tackles: Ten conference standouts finished with 10 or more tackles, led by Illinois' Zane Petty with 14 defensive stops. Three players racked up 12 tackles - Indiana's Greg Heban and the Iowa tandem of Desmond King and James Morris - while four defenders collected 11 stops - Illinois' Earnest Thomas III, Iowa's Anthony Hitchens, Minnesota's Antonio Johnson and Northwestern's Nick VanHoose. Michigan State's Max Bullough and Northwestern's Damien Proby each posted 10 tackles.

Tackles for Loss: Four Big Ten defenders recorded two tackles for loss (TFLs) - Indiana's T.J. Simmons (one sack), Michigan State's Max Bullough (one sack), Northwestern's Tyler Scott (one sack) and Purdue's Bruce Gaston.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/49219

Leave a comment