Nine Big Ten Players on Capital One Academic All-District Team

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The College of Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced its 2013-2014 Capital One Academic All-District Women's Soccer Team, with nine student-athletes from the Big Ten earning recognition. First-team honorees include Illinois' Vanessa DiBernardo, Indiana's Rebecca Dreher and Shannon Flower, Iowa's Katie Nasenbenny and Purdue's Mollie Kuramoto. Earning second-team recognition included Indiana's Rebecca Candler, Michigan's Holly Hein and Shelina Zadorsky and Northwestern's Kate Allen.

DiBernardo is a three-time All-Big Ten honoree, the 2011 Midfielder of the Year, 2010 Freshman of the Year and two-time Academic All-Big Ten. Dreher, Flower, Nasenbenny, Kuramoto and Candler are all two-time Academic All-Big Ten honorees, while Hein was also a 2012 All-Big Ten. Zadorsky and Allen were both Academic All-Big Ten selections in 2012 and 2013.

The award recognizes the nation's top student-athletes for their athletic performance and academic success. First-team Academic All-District honorees advance to the Capital One Academic All-America Team ballot, which will be selected later this month.

Vanessa DiBernardo, ILL
Rebecca Dreher, IND
Shannon Flower, IND
Katie Nasenbenny, IOWA
Mollie Kuramoto, PUR

Rebecca Candler, IND
Holly Hein, MICH
Shelina Zadorsky, MICH
Kate Allen, NU

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment