Seven Big Ten Assistant Coaches Named Nominees for Broyles Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Seven assistant coaches from Big Ten schools have been named nominees for the Broyles Award, given annually to the top assistant coach in America, as announced on Wednesday. Seth Littrell (Indiana), Phil Parker (Iowa), Pat Narduzzi (Michigan State), Tracy Claeys (Minnesota), Tim Beck (Nebraska), Tom Herman (Ohio State) and Dave Aranda (Wisconsin) are among 40 assistants to earn recognition for the award.

Littrell leads an Indiana offense that is tied for second in the Big Ten with 36.8 points per game and is second in total offense with 491.8 yards per game. The Hoosiers have scored 408 points so far this season, including 54 touchdowns.

Under Parker, the Iowa defense ranks third in the conference in total defense, surrendering just 304.5 yards per game. The Hawkeyes have held opponents to only 18.9 points per game, which ranks fourth in the Big Ten.

Narduzzi's Michigan State defense leads the nation in total defense, allowing just 236.6 yards per game. The Spartans also lead the conference in scoring defense at 12.5 points per game, a total that ranks fourth in the country.

Claeys took on many of the day-to-day head coaching duties for Minnesota during head coach Jerry Kill's leave of absence, guiding the Gophers to eight victories and their first appearance in the Bowl Championship Series standings since 2008.

Beck has led a Nebraska offense that ranks fourth in the conference in both scoring (34.0 points per game) and total offense (433.3 yards per game). Nebraska has averaged 233.7 rushing yards per game this season, ranking third in the conference in that category.

Under Herman, the Ohio State offense has led all conference schools in scoring offense (48.7 points per game), total offense (530.9 yards per game) and rushing offense (314.7 yards per game). The Buckeyes rank among the top seven nationally in all three categories.

Aranda leads a Wisconsin defense that ranks second in the conference in scoring defense (13.4 points per game), total defense (278.5 yards per game) and passing defense (179.4 yards per game). The Badgers rank among the top 10 nationally in all three categories

Since the inception of the Broyles Award in 1996, the Big Ten has garnered several nominations and one recipient in Ohio State's Jim Heacock (2007). The 2013 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, Dec.10, at 11:30 a.m. CT.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment