Three Big Ten Standouts Named Semifinalists for Biletnikoff and Mackey Awards

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Three Big Ten student-athletes were named semifinalists for national awards today in tight ends Ted Bolser of Indiana and Devin Funchess of Michigan and wide receiver Allen Robinson of Penn State.

Bolser and Funchess were tabbed as semifinalists for the John Mackey Award, given annually to the nation's top tight end. Bolser ranks fourth on the Hoosiers with 30 catches for 296 yards and five touchdowns while Funchess is second among the Wolverines with 42 receptions for 684 yards and five scores. Three Big Ten tight ends have claimed the Mackey Award - Purdue's Tim Stratton in 2000, Iowa's Dallas Clark in 2002 and Minnesota's Matt Spaeth in 2006.

Robinson was selected as a semifinalist for the Biletnikoff Award, honoring the country's top wide receiver. The Nittany Lions wideout is on pace to lead the Big Ten in both receptions and receiving yards for the second straight season. He currently tops the conference with 81 receptions for 1,204 yards with six touchdowns. Four Big Ten standouts have won the Biletnikoff Award - Penn State's Bobby Engram in 1994, Ohio State's Terry Glenn in 1995, Michigan State's Charles Rogers in 2002 and Michigan's Braylon Edwards in 2004.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment