Big Ten Men's Soccer Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Big Ten enjoyed a successful 2013 men's soccer season that concluded with five teams earning bids to the NCAA Tournament. Penn State earned the regular season title, while Indiana won the Big Ten Tournament.

NCAA Tournament: Indiana, Michigan State, Northwestern, Penn State and Wisconsin all earned berths to the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship, marking the fourth time in the last six years the Big Ten has earned five NCAA Tournament bids. The Nittany Lions and Badgers advanced to the second round after winning their opening games, while the Spartans earned a first-round bye. Michigan State edged Louisville, 1-0, in double overtime and Penn State defeated UC Santa Barbara, 1-0, continuing to the third round of the NCAA Tournament. The Spartans defeated Georgetown, 1-0, to advance to the quarterfinals but fell to the eventual national champion, Notre Dame. For more on the NCAA Tournament, click here.  

Regular-Season Crown: Penn State clinched the outright Big Ten Championship with a 2-1 double-overtime win over Northwestern on Oct. 27, marking its second-consecutive title and fifth overall. With the win, the Nittany Lions earned a first-round bye in the Big Ten Tournament. For the complete release, click here.

Big Ten Tournament Title: Fifth-seeded Indiana won its 12th Big Ten Tournament Championship in school history after defeating third-seeded Michigan State, 1-0, in the championship game. The defending national champion Hoosiers earned the Big Ten's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. For more information on the Big Ten Men's Soccer Tournament, click here.

Where We Rank: Three Big Ten men's soccer teams appeared in the final NSCAA/NCAA Coaches' Poll: No. 7 Michigan State, No. 16 Penn State and No. 19 Wisconsin. For the complete top 25 poll, click here.

End-of-Year Awards: The Big Ten announced the men's soccer postseason honors on Nov. 14, with four teams earning accolades. Wisconsin's Tomislav Zadro claimed Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year honors, while teammate AJ Cochran was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. Tyler Arnone of Michigan was named Midfielder of the Year, and Indiana's Tommy Thompson was selected as Freshman of the Year. Penn State's Andrew Wolverton claimed Goalkeeper of the Year accolades, while Nittany Lion head coach Bob Warming was named Big Ten Coach of the Year. For more information on the postseason honors and the All-Big Ten teams, click here.

All-America Accolades: Two Big Ten men's soccer players were named to the NSCAA/NCAA Division I Men's All-America Teams. Wisconsin's AJ Cochran, the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, earned a first-team nod, while Michigan State's Kevin Cope, a unanimous first-team All-Big Ten defender, was named to the second team. For more on the NSCAA/NCAA All-America teams, click here.

Regional Recognition: Thirteen Big Ten men's soccer players were named to the NCAA Division I Men's All-Great Lakes Region team. Six student-athletes earned first-team nods, three were named to the second team and four earned third-team honors. Northwestern led the conference with four players earning All-Great Lakes Region recognition, while Michigan State and Wisconsin both had three student-athletes named to the teams. For the full list of conference players named to the All-Great Lakes Region team, click here.

Head of the Class: Following the conclusion of the fall season, the Big Ten recognized a total of 869 fall sports student-athletes that were named to the Academic All-Conference team, which included 81 men's soccer players. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. For the complete Academic All-Big Ten release, click here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment