Big Ten Men's Cross Country Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The 2013 Big Ten men's cross country season came to a close with three teams and four individual participants competing in the NCAA Championships, including two Big Ten squads placing in the top 10. Big Ten Champion Indiana finished eighth at the championships, pacing two Hoosiers in the top 50, while Wisconsin followed in ninth and Michigan in 21st. The Big Ten was led by Michigan's Mason Ferlic, who placed 22nd individually, followed by Big Ten Athlete of the Year Malachy Schrobilgen and Alex Brill of Wisconsin. Ferlic and Schrobilgen, joined by Michigan State's Caleb Rhynard and Purdue's Matthew McClintock, all earned All-America honors.

Big Ten Cross Country Championships Roundup: Indiana won its first Big Ten Men's Cross Country Championship since 1980 after placing four runners in the top 10 at the Boilermaker Cross Country Course. Jason Crist placed fifth individually and was the first Hoosier to cross the 8,000-meter (8K) finish line in a time of 24:24.9. Wisconsin's Malachy Schrobilgen finished first individually, finishing the race in 24:16.9. For the full Big Ten Championships recap and a list of All-Big Ten honorees, click here.

All-Region Honorees: Twenty-three Big Ten men's cross country runners were named All-Region honorees after placing in the top 25 individually at their respective regional championships. Indiana led the way with six runners, while five from Wisconsin, four from Michigan, two from Minnesota and one runner each from Indiana, Iowa, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue were named to the team. For the complete list of Big Ten All-Region honorees, click here. 

Big Ten Postseason Awards: The Big Ten Conference announced the individual award winners for the 2013 men's cross country season on Nov. 6. Wisconsin's Malachy Schrobilgen was selected as the Big Ten Athlete of the Year and also claimed Freshman of the Year honors after winning the individual title at the Big Ten Men's Cross Country Championships. Indiana head coach Ron Helmer was named Big Ten Coach of the Year after guiding the Hoosiers to their first Big Ten title since 1980. For more on the individual Big Ten award winners, click here.

Head of the Class: Following the conclusion of the fall season, the Big Ten recognized a total of 869 fall sports student-athletes who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team, which included 75 men's cross country runners. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. At least 20 student-athletes maintained unblemished cumulative GPAs, including men's cross country runners Amir Alwan of Wisconsin and Garret Zuk from Michigan State. For the complete Academic All-Big Ten release, click here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment