Big Ten Reels in AVCA Regional Awards

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Big Ten volleyball standouts collected numerous AVCA Division I Regional Awards on Tuesday, with 31 players earning All-Region honors and two coaches tabbed Coach of the Year in their respective region. Big Ten student-athletes made up all 14 spots on the North Region team, while conference players took 12 of the 14 spots on the Northeast Region team and five were named honorable mention selections. Minnesota head coach Hugh McCutcheon earned North Region Coach of the Year recognition, while Penn State's Russ Rose took home Northeast Region Coach of the Year honors. Freshmen Kadie Rolfzen of Nebraska and Lauren Carlini of Wisconsin were tabbed Freshman of the Year in the North and Northeast Regions, respectively. Nebraska and Penn State led the way with five honorees each, while Purdue had four. The complete list of Big Ten standouts that garnered All-Region recognition can be found below.

Jennifer Cross, MICH
Lexi Dannemiller, MICH
Molly Toon, MICH
Alexis Mathews, MSU
Kori Moster, MSU
Lauren Wicinski, MSU
Tori Dixon, MINN
Adrianna Nora, MINN
Ashley Wittman, MINN
Meghan Haggerty, NEB
Mary Pollmiller, NEB
Kelsey Robinson, NEB
Kadie Rolfzen, NEB
Stephanie Holthus, NU

Honorable Mention: Cecilia Hall, NEB; Caleigh Ryan, NU
Freshman of the Year: Kadie Rolfzen, NEB
Coach of the Year: Hugh McCutcheon, MINN

Jennifer Beltran, ILL
Jocelynn Birks, ILL
Kaitlyn Leary, OSU
Nia Grant, PSU
Micha Hancock, PSU
Deja McClendon, PSU
Ariel Scott, PSU
Katie Slay, PSU
KiKi Jones, PUR
Val Nichol, PUR
Lauren Carlini, WIS
Ellen Chapman, WIS

Honorable Mention: Liz McMahon, ILL; Carly Cramer and Catherine Rebarchak, PUR
Freshman of the Year: Lauren Carlini, WIS
Coach of the Year: Russ Rose, PSU

For the full list of regional award winners, click HERE

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment