Michigan State's Dantonio Named Finalist for Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), in conjunction with the Fiesta Bowl, announced that Michigan State's Mark Dantonio has been named one of eight finalists for the 2013 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award whose winner will be revealed on Mon., Dec. 16. Dantonio turned the Spartans (12-1) into a Big Ten power that is now headed to the Rose Bowl Game after defeating Ohio State in the Big Ten Football Championship Game. Michigan State, one of the best defensive teams in the nation, has lost only at Notre Dame this season. This is Michigan State's first outright Big Ten title since 1987. Dantonio was an Eddie Robinson Award finalist in 2010. Twelve coaches from current Big Ten institutions have claimed the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, most recently when Ohio State's Jim Tressel was honored in 2002. The FWAA has honored a major college coach with its coach of the Year award since the 1957 season when Ohio State's Woody Hayes claimed the honor. Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University, has been the FWAA's coaching namesake since the 1997 season. The Fiesta Bowl joined with the FWAA a year later as the sponsor of the award.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/50891

Leave a comment