Thirteen Big Ten Student-Athletes Named to All-Great Lakes Region Team

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Thirteen Big Ten men's soccer players were named to the NCAA Division I Men's All-Great Lakes Region team, including six on the first team.

Indiana's Jacob Bushue was a third-team selection after helping the Hoosiers win their 12th Big Ten Tournament Championship. He was also a second-team All-Big Ten pick. 

Tyler Arnone of Michigan was named to the first team after scoring two goals and collecting five assists. The Big Ten Midfielder of the Year was also a first-team All-Big Ten pick and was named to the Big Ten All-Tournament Team.

Michigan State's Kevin Cope was a first-team all-region pick, Jay Chapman was a second-team selection and Tim Kreutz was named to the third team. Cope scored two goals and collected two assists, while Chapman tallied 18 points during the season, including three goals and eight assists. Kreutz started all 23 matches, scoring nine goals and tallying five assists. All three student-athletes earned first-team All-Big Ten honors. The Spartans advanced to the "Elite Eight" of the NCAA Tournament.

Northwestern's Joey Calistri was a named to the first team, Tyler Miller and Chris Ritter were second team selections and Nikko Boxall was a third-team all-region pick. Calistri led the Big Ten with 28 points, including 12 goals and four assists, while Miller posted eight shutouts. Ritter tallied five goals, including three game-winners, while Boxall contributed to a backline that helped the Wildcats post nine shutouts.

Andrew Wolverton of Penn State was a first-team all-region choice after collecting 76 saves and posting eight shutouts. The Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year led the Nittany Lions to the Big Ten Championship and the quarterfinal round of the NCAA Tournament.

Wisconsin's AJ Cochran and Tomislav Zadro were both named to the Great Lakes All-Region first team, while Nick Janus was a third-team selection. Cochran, the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, anchored a backline that helped Wisconsin shut out seven opponents, and he also scored three goals. Zadro was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year after scoring four goals and collecting eight assists, while Janus scored nine goals and recorded three assists. The Badgers advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

First Team
Tyler Arnone, MICH
Kevin Cope, MSU
Joey Calistri, NU
Andrew Wolverton, PSU
AJ Cochran, WIS
Tomislav Zadro, WIS

Second Team
Jay Chapman, MSU
Tyler Miller, NU
Chris Ritter, NU

Third Team
Jacob Bushue, IND
Tim Kreutz, MSU
Nikko Boxall, NU
Nick Janus, WIS

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment