Two Big Ten Players Named to Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Michigan State's Keith Appling and Gary Harris were named to the Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List, the organization announced on Thursday.

Appling has helped lead the Spartans to their best start in school history at 18-1, including the best start in Big Ten play (7-0) since 2009-10. He ranks third in the conference in assists (4.6 apg), fourth in assist/turnover ratio (2.3), fifth in three-point field goal percentage (.426) and 10th in scoring (15.6 ppg).

Harris, the Preseason Big Ten Player of the Year, ranks second in the Big Ten in scoring (18.3 ppg) and third in steals (2.1 spg). He has recorded five 20-point games on the season.

The award will be presented to the National Player of the Year on April 14. Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the two-time USBWA Player of the Year, Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment