Five Big Ten Softball Players Named Senior CLASS Award Candidates

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Five Big Ten softball players were named candidates for the Senior CLASS Award on Thursday. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition.

Representing the Big Ten were Michigan's Nicole Sappingfield, Minnesota's Sara Moulton, Nebraska's Tatum Edwards, Northwestern's Mari Majam and Purdue's Andie Varsho.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City May 29 through June 4.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment