100 Days of the Big Ten Medal of Honor: Day 14

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

During the Big Ten's celebration of the 100th Anniversary of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, the conference will be featuring "Medal of Honor Mondays" for 12 consecutive weeks, which will highlight a number of Medal of Honor winners from each school. This week, we feature Indiana University. 

John Hammerstein (1996, football)
Hammerstein was Indiana's Big Ten Medal of Honor winner in 1996. He is the only two-time Academic All-American in Indiana football history, earning the honors following his junior and senior seasons. A four-year letterwinner, he started at defensive tackle his final three years and was team captain as a senior in 1995. After completing his undergraduate work in biology, Hammerstein attended the IU School of Medicine before completing his orthopedic surgery residency at Michigan State. Currently he is a spinal surgeon in Bloomington.

Jennifer Hsia (2001, tennis)
Hsia was awarded the Big Ten Medal of Honor in 2001. She was a four-year letterwinner for Indiana and three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree. She was a part of the Hoosiers' 1998 Big Ten Championship team. She graduated from Alabama's medical school in her hometown of Tuscaloosa and continued her studies at Washington and Stanford. She is an assistant professor and otolaryngologist at Minnesota, caring for patients with obstructive sleep apnea and sleep-disorder breathing.

Steve Alford (1987, basketball)
Alford was Indiana's Big Ten Medal of Honor winner in 1987 after leading the Hoosiers to the NCAA Championship. He finished his career as Indiana's all-time scoring leader with 2,438 points, a record that held until 1993. Alford was a two-time All-American, a three-time first-team All-Big Ten selection and was named the Big Ten Most Valuable Player in 1987. He is still the Big Ten's career leader in three-point field goal percentage (.530), and ranks fifth overall in points and field goals (898). Alford, who also played in the NBA for four seasons before beginning his coaching career, was named UCLA's 13th head coach on March 30, 2013. As Iowa's head coach from 2000-07, he helped guide the Hawkeyes to seven consecutive winning seasons and six postseason appearances. He was inducted into the Indiana University Athletics Hall of Fame in 1997, and was one of 15 players named to Indiana's All-Century Team in 2001.

Chuck Thompson (1972, Swimming & Diving) and Gary Hall (1973, Swimming & Diving)
Indiana's Chuck Thomson and Gary Hall were both part of the Hoosier swimming & diving team that won six straight NCAA crowns from 1968-73. They are two of the 130 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients have been crowned NCAA team champions. Hall (1973) also won 10 individual conference titles, and was one of at least 280 Medal of Honor recipients have been crowned individual Big Ten Champions during their careers.

Matthew Winters (1915, Football/Baseball)
Winters, a football and baseball player at Indiana, was one of three inaugural Big Ten Medal of Honor award winners in 1915 that went on to become a physician.



No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/53638

Leave a comment