100 Days of the Big Ten Medal of Honor: Day 21

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

During the Big Ten's celebration of the 100th Anniversary of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, the conference will be featuring "Medal of Honor Mondays" for 12 consecutive weeks, which will highlight a number of Medal of Honor winners from each school. This week, we feature the University of Iowa.

Matt Whitaker (1993, football)
A 1993 recipient of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, Whitaker was a tight end for the Hawkeyes' most recent Rose Bowl team. A three-year letterwinner for Iowa from 1990-92, he earned Academic All-Big Ten status in those three years as well. He is a former U.S. Attorney.  Whitaker, a Republican, is a candidate for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Democrat Tom Harkin in 2014.

Andre Woolridge (1997, basketball)
Woolridge, who was the first player in Big Ten history to lead the conference in scoring and assists in the same season, won the Big Ten Medal of Honor in 1997. He was a first-team All-Big Ten selection and was named a third-team All-American by the Associated Press his senior season after averaging 20.2 points and six assists per game. After graduating from Iowa in 1997, the Omaha, Neb., native enjoyed an extensive career playing professional basketball overseas. He was inducted into the Nebraska High School Sports Hall of Fame in 2007 and the Nebraska Black Sports Hall of Fame in 2011.

Dee Ann Davidson (1985, volleyball)
A 1985 recipient of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, Davidson was Iowa's first women's volleyball player to earn the distinction. Davidson was twice named MVP for the Hawkeyes and led Iowa in blocks for three seasons. She also led the conference in digs per game in 1984. She was a two-time All-Big Ten honoree and was tabbed an Academic All-American in 1984. The two-time CoSIDA District VII All-American graduated with a degree in accounting with high distinction and a 3.85 GPA. She was named to the President's list four semesters and Dean's list six semesters, and later was named to Iowa's Academic All-Decade team.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/53848

Leave a comment