Beilein Named Finalist for Naismith Coach of the Year

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Michigan's John Beilein was named a finalist for the Naismith Men's Coach of the Year Award on Thursday. Beilein guided the Wolverines to their first outright Big Ten Championship since 1986.

After the departure of NBA first-round selections Trey Burke and Tim Hardaway Jr., as well as losing preseason All-American Mitch McGary to injury prior to the outset of Big Ten play, Beilein led the Wolverines their fifth season with 20 or more wins.

After securing the conference title, Michigan earned its first No. 1 seed at the Big Ten Tournament and reached the championship game at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. The Wolverines also secured a No. 2 seed in the 2014 NCAA Tournament.

During the Big Ten season, Michigan recorded wins over three straight top-10 opponents for the first time in school history with its victories at No. 3/3 Wisconsin, against No. 10/10 Iowa and at No. 3/3 Michigan State.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment