Stauskas, Harris Named Wooden Award Finalists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Michigan's Nik Stauskas and Michigan State's Gary Harris were named finalists for the John R. Wooden Award, recognizing the top men's college basketball player in the nation.

Stauskas leads the Wolverines with 17.3 points per game, while averaging 3.3 rebounds and 3.5 assists per contest. He has set new career bests in 11 stat categories this season.

Harris has scored 20 or more points 10 times this season and is the second highest scorer in the Big Ten, averaging 17.7 points per game. Harris is also third in the Big Ten in steals (2.0 spg).

Stauskas and Harris were both named finalists for the Wooden Award despite not being named to the Midseason Top 25.

All balloted players have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The John R. Wooden Award Player of the Year will be announced during the Final Four Weekend in North Texas.

The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation's top 10 players, will be announced the week of the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament after voting by nearly 1,000 media members between March 12-24 and through the fan voting site.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment