Three Wrestlers Earn NCAA Awards

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Three Big Ten wrestlers took home awards from the NCAA on Wednesday, as Indiana's Taylor Walsh, Ohio State's Logan Stieber and Penn State's David Taylor earned recognition from the national office.

Taylor earned the Most Dominant Wrestler Award after finishing the season undefeated (34-0) on the way to the 165-pound national championship. Taylor had three pins and a major decision before shutting out, 6-0, Tyler Caldwell of Oklahoma State in the final. Taylor finished the season with an average of 5.0909 points, which was the highest average across all divisions.

Walsh earned the award for most pins in a tight race that came down to time against Bucknell heavyweight Joe Stolfi.  Both wrestlers finished the season with 22 pins, but Walsh's combined time of 65:09 at 157 pounds was 51 seconds faster than Stolfi. Walsh earned a pin against Alex Hudson of Chattanooga in 2:19 in the first round in Oklahoma City to clinch the award.

Stieber won his third consecutive national championship in Oklahoma City, in addition to taking the award for most tech falls with 11 in 2013-14, tied for the most across divisions. He earned his 11th tech fall of the season in the second round of the tournament with a 17-1 decision in 4:52 over Anthony Collica of Oklahoma State.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment