100 Days of the Big Ten Medal of Honor: Day 28

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

During the Big Ten's celebration of the 100th Anniversary of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, the conference will be featuring "Medal of Honor Mondays" for 12 consecutive weeks, which will highlight a number of Medal of Honor winners from each school. This week, we feature the University of Michigan.

Carl Hagelin (2011, hockey)
Before opening a successful career with the New York Rangers of the National Hockey League over the past two seasons, Hagelin stood out both on the ice and in the classroom in Ann Arbor. He was awarded the Big Ten Medal of Honor in 2011, the same year that he was named a second-team All-America selection. Hagelin was also a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree while pursuing a degree in sport management. He recently earned a silver medal with Sweden at the Sochi Olympic Games.

Beth Wymer (1995, gymnastics)
A 1995 recipient of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, Wymer was a three-time Big Ten Gymnast of the Year and became the first female gymnast inducted into her university's Hall of Honor. She won four conference titles in the all-around, leading the Wolverines to team championships each year, and three NCAA titles on uneven bars. She earned a master's degree in kinesiology and has counseled clients in nutrition, lifestyle and personal training.

Paul Goebel (1923, football)
Goebel, a 1923 Big Ten Medal of Honor winner, was the first to wear jersey No. 1 for the Wolverines. He was a captain of the 1922 Michigan team that won the Big Ten Championship and earned the honor of scoring the first Wolverine points in Ohio Stadium when he kicked a field goal on Oct. 21, 1922. He was a lieutenant commander on a U.S. Navy aircraft carrier in World War II, ran a sporting goods store, officiated Big Ten football and served as mayor of Grand Rapids, Mich. He was also influential in the political career of President Gerald Ford.

Alison Noble (1984, volleyball)
A 1984 recipient of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, Noble was a four-year letterwinner for Michigan. She led the Wolverines to their first Big Ten Championship in 1981, where she was named to the Big Ten All-Tournament team. Noble was a two-time AIAW All-Region honoree in 1980 and 1981 and an Academic All-Big Ten selection in 1983. The computer engineering major graduated summa cum laude and was inducted into the M-Women Academic Hall of Fame in 1985.

Andrea Williams (1985, volleyball)
Awarded the Big Ten Medal of Honor in 1985, Williams was the first Michigan female student-athlete to play a varsity sport while attending graduate school. The Scarborough, Ontario, native completed a Ph.D. program in world politics while competing for the Wolverines in 1984 and 1985. Williams led Michigan in assists, hitting percentage, kills and solo blocks in both seasons she competed, along with being named an Academic All-Big Ten selection. In 1985, she was named honorable mention All-Big Ten, while also leading the Wolverines in digs, total blocks and sets played. Prior to her time at Michigan, Williams competed for the Canadian national team.

Jon Jansen (1999, football)
Winner of the 1999 Big Ten Medal of Honor, Jansen was a two-time All-Big Ten performer at Michigan and helped lead the Wolverines to a national title in 1997. Serving as captain during his junior and senior seasons, Jansen earned All-America status as a senior, while also garnering Academic All-Big Ten accolades in 1997 and 1998. Following his collegiate career, Jansen was drafted in the second round of the 1999 NFL Draft by the Washington Redskins and became a model of consistency during his 10-year career. He started 125 of the 137 games in which he played and was named a second-team All-Pro in 2005.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/54038

Leave a comment