2013-14 Men's Swimming & Diving Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Big Ten men's swimming & diving season concluded at the NCAA Championships on March 29 at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center on the University of Texas campus in Austin, Texas, as Michigan swam to a fourth-place finish. The Wolverines also took home their fourth consecutive Big Ten Championship this season, earning 889 points at the conference meet.

NCAA Championships Central: The Big Ten men's swimming & diving season concluded with 11 top-ten finishes on the final day of the NCAA Men's Swimming & Diving Championships at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center in Austin, Texas, including two national crowns. Michigan's Connor Jaeger and Dylan Bosch both won the national title in the 1,650-yard freestyle (14:29.27) and 200-yard butterfly (1:39.33), respectively. The Wolverines placed fourth overall with 310 points throughout the three-day event, followed by Indiana in 10th place with 141 points, Penn State in 17th place with 63 points and Ohio State in 18th place with 54 points. Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin also received points at the event. For full coverage of the meet, click here.

NCAA Championships Qualifiers: Forty-six Big Ten student-athletes from nine men's swimming & diving schools represented the conference at the 2014 NCAA Championships in Austin, Texas, from March 27-29. The complete list of Big Ten qualifiers can be found here.

Bring Home the Hardware: The Big Ten announced the 2014 Big Ten Men's Swimmer and Diver of the Year awards following the NCAA Championships, as voted on by the conference coaches. Michigan's Connor Jaeger was named the Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, while Indiana's Darian Schmidt was tabbed the Big Ten Diver of the Year. Both recipients earned the honor for the second consecutive year. For the complete release, click here.

We Are the Champions: Michigan captured the 2014 Big Ten Men's Swimming & Diving Championship, which were held at the Donald B. Canham Natatorium on the campus of Michigan. The title marks the Wolverines' fourth consecutive crown and 38th overall. Michigan compiled 889 points throughout the four-day event. Indiana finished second after collecting 564 points and Ohio State was third with 515 points. Minnesota finished fourth with 378 points, while Penn State recorded 349.5 points to finish fifth. For more on the Big Ten Championships, click here and here.

And the Awards Go To: Following the conclusion of the Big Ten Championships, Michigan head coach Mike Bottom picked up Swimming Coach of the Year laurels for the fourth consecutive year. Penn State's Shane Ryan was named the Swimmer of the Championships, while Indiana's Darian Schmidt was tabbed the Diver of the Championships. Minnesota's Jakub Maly was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Indiana diving coach Drew Johansen was named the Diving Coach of the Year. For more on the awards and a complete list of All-Big Ten honorees, click here.

Academic Excellence: On March 26, the conference recognized a total of 678 winter sports student-athletes who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team, which included 143 men's swimmers and divers. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. The list of swimmers included 76 repeat winners, including 44 two-time honorees and 32 three-time honorees. To read more on the Academic All-Conference team, click here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/53925

Leave a comment