2013-14 Women's Swimming & Diving Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Big Ten women's swimming & diving season concluded at the NCAA Championships on March 22 at the University Aquatic Center on the University of Minnesota campus. Minnesota recorded 136.5 team points at the championships, leading the Big Ten with a 10th-place finish. The Golden Gophers also took home their third consecutive Big Ten Championship this season, earning 760 points at the conference meet.

NCAA Championships Central: The Big Ten was well-represented in the 2014 NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championships. Minnesota finished in 10th place with 136.5 points, followed by Indiana in 12th place with 118 points and 13th-place Wisconsin with 78 points. Penn State finished 18th (42), followed by Purdue in 25th (33) and Michigan in 30th (23). Indiana's Brooklynn Snodgrass won the national crown in the 200-yard backstroke with a time of 1:50.52. The Big Ten also collected individual top-eight finishes in Indiana's Snodgrass (100-yard backstroke, 500-yard freestyle), Lindsay Vrooman (1,650-yard freestyle), Michigan's Marni Oldershaw (200-yard individual medley), Minnesota's Kiera Janzen (1,650-yard freestyle, 500-yard freestyle), Maggie Keefer (one-meter) and Kierra Smith (200-yard breaststroke), Penn State's Alyson Ackman (200-yard freestyle), Purdue's Michelle Cabassol (three-meter) and MacKenzie Tweardy (platform) and Wisconsin's Ivy Martin (50-yard freestyle). For full coverage of the meet, click here.

NCAA Championship Qualifiers: Fifty Big Ten student-athletes from nine swimming & diving teams represented the conference at the NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championships, held at the University Aquatic Center on the University of Minnesota campus. The list of Big Ten qualifiers can be found here.

Bringing Home the Hardware: The Big Ten announced the 2014 Big Ten Women's Swimmer and Diver of the Year awards following the NCAA Championships, as voted on by the conference coaches. Indiana's Brooklynn Snodgrass was named the Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, while Minnesota's Maggie Keefer was tabbed the Big Ten Diver of the Year. To read the complete release, click here.

The Gophers are Golden: Minnesota captured the 2014 Big Ten Women's Swimming & Diving Championship at the University Aquatic Center on the campus of the University of Minnesota. The title marks the Gophers' third consecutive crown and sixth overall.  Minnesota compiled 760 total points throughout the four-day event. Indiana finished second after collecting 649 points and Penn State was third with 484 points. Ohio State finished fourth with 374 points, while Michigan recorded 361 points to finish fifth. The Gophers took home individual titles in the 100-yard breaststroke, 200-yard breaststroke, three-meter diving competition, platform diving event and 800-yard freestyle relay. To read more on the Big Ten Championships, click here and here.

And the Awards Go To: Following the Big Ten Championships, Minnesota's Maggie Keefer and Purdue's Casey Matthews were named Co-Divers of the Championships, while Wisconsin's Ivy Martin was named the Swimmer of the Championships. Minnesota head coach Kelly Kremer collected Swimming Coach of the Year honors for the third consecutive season, while Purdue's Adam Soldati was named Diving Coach of the Year. Indiana's Gia Dalesandro was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. For more on the awards and a complete list of All-Big Ten honorees, click here.

Academic Excellence: On March 26, the conference recognized a total of 678 winter sports student-athletes who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team, which included 183 men's swimmers and divers. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher. The list of swimmers included 112 repeat winners, including 50 three-time honorees, one four-time honoree and one five-time honoree. For more on the Academic All-Big Ten selections, click here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/53926

Leave a comment