Penn State's Taylor Wins Hodge Trophy

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Penn State Nittany Lion wrestler David Taylor, firmly established as one of collegiate wrestling's all-time greats, has been named the 2014 Dan Hodge Trophy Winner, collegiate wrestling's Heisman Trophy. Taylor, who recently capped off a stellar collegiate career with an unbeaten season and his second NCAA individual title, won the award for the second time. For just the third time in the 20-year history of the Dan Hodge Trophy, college wrestling's top award will go to same individual more than once in a career. Taylor dominated the official ballots in the same way he did opponents on the mat, winning 38 of the 43 official votes from the Hodge Trophy Voting Committee. Taylor joins his coach and three-time winner Cael Sanderson (2000-2002) and Missouri's Ben Askren (2006-07) as the only multiple-time winners in the two-decade history of the award, as he also won the Hodge in 2012. A wrestler from a Big Ten school has taken home the honor on eight occasions, including six out of the last seven years.

Penn State Release
About the Hodge Trophy

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment