Big Ten Medal of Honor Mondays: Nebraska

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
During the Big Ten's celebration of the 100th Anniversary of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, the conference will be featuring "Medal of Honor Mondays" for 12 consecutive weeks, which will highlight a number of Medal of Honor winners from each school. This week, we feature the University of Nebraska.

Emily Wong (2014, gymnastics)
As a senior, Wong led Coach Dan Kendig's Husker women's gymnastics team to the Big Ten title. Along the way, Wong cemented her position as one of the nation's top all-around student-athletes. The 2014 Big Ten Gymnast of the Year, Wong won the Big Ten title on floor after posting just the second 10.0 on the event in Nebraska history. She added a Big Ten title on beam with a career-high 9.95 on the event in 2014, after winning four individual Big Ten crowns in 2013. In addition to her remarkable accomplishments in competition, Wong was a second-team CoSIDA Academic All-American in 2013 and was named the winner of the Big Ten's Wayne Duke Postgraduate Scholarship. She is a finalist for the 2014 AAI Award presented to the nation's top women's gymnastics student-athlete. The native of Grand Forks, N.D., is a three-time NACGC/W Scholastic All-American and a three-time academic All-Big Ten selection. She is a two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar as a nutrition science major at Nebraska.

Seth Wiedel (2014, track & field)
Wiedel battled to a runner-up showing at the 2014 Big Ten Indoor Championships in the long jump with a season-best tying mark of 24-7 1/4 (7.50) for Coach Gary Pepin's track and field team. Wiedel also finished 11th in the triple jump at the league meet. He added an eighth-place finish in the long jump and a ninth-place showing in the triple jump at the 2013 Big Ten outdoor meet.
Wiedel was a 2013 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and claimed academic All-Big Ten honors in both 2012 and 2013. He was also a recipient of a Nebraska Student-Athlete HERO Leadership Award in 2013. He earned spots on the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team in both 2011 and 2013. Wiedel is majoring in business administration at Nebraska.

Björn Barrefors (2013, track & field)
A track & field standout at Nebraska, Barrefors earned the Big Ten Medal of Honor in 2013. He is a six-time All-American, two-time conference champion, two-time All-Big Ten selection and holds the school record in the outdoor decathlon and indoor heptathlon events. The three-time captain won the decathlon at the 2012 Big Ten Outdoor Championships and finished fourth at the 2013 Big Ten Outdoor Championships. At the NCAA Championships in 2012, he finished fourth in the heptathlon and eighth in the decathlon. The Stockholm, Sweden native was the first four-time CoSIDA Academic All-American in Cornhusker history, and also won the NCAA Elite 88 award in 2010.  Barrefors is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and won the Big Ten Distinguished Scholar award in both 2012 and 2013.

Ashley Miller (2012, track & field)
Miller won the Big Ten Medal of Honor in 2012. She ran to a record 15 state championships for her Iowa high school before becoming a three-time Big Ten champion. In 2012, Miller earned the Big Ten indoor title in the 3,000-meter run and the outdoor crowns in the 800- and 1,500-meter runs. She currently holds the Husker record in the 3,000-meter run and was tabbed an All-American and Academic All-American during her career. She has been active as a community volunteer and pursued a master's degree in community nutrition and health promotion.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment