Two Future Big Ten Men's Lacrosse Teams Earn Berths to NCAA Championship

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee announced the field for its championship tournament on Sunday, with two future Big Ten men's lacrosse programs earning berths in the field - John Hopkins and Maryland.

Johns Hopkins was awarded one of eight at-large bids to the tournament and will travel to eighth-seeded Virginia in the first round. The tournament bid is the NCAA-record 42nd for Johns Hopkins. The Johns Hopkins-Virginia game will take place on Sunday, May 11 at 1 pm and will air live on ESPN2.

For the 12th-straight year and 37th time overall the Terrapins will compete in the event, receiving the No. 7 seed with an at-large bid. Maryland will play Cornell on Saturday, May 10 at 5 p.m. at Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium. The game will be televised live on ESPNU.

The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, May 24-26 and hosted by Johns Hopkins, Loyola (Md.), UMBC and Towson. All Division I first-round games will be televised on ESPNU or ESPN2 on May 11 and 12. The quarterfinal games will also all be televised on ESPN2 or ESPNU on May 17 and 18. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at 1 p.m. ET May 25. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN starting at 1 p.m. ET May 26.

For the complete bracket, click here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment