2014 Big Ten Rowing Season In Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The 2014 Big Ten rowing season came to a close at the NCAA Championships, where Ohio State claimed its second consecutive national team title after earning first-place finishes in the first varsity eight and second varsity eight.

We Are The Champions: The Ohio State rowing team made program history at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, claiming its second consecutive national team title after earning first-place finishes in the first varsity eight and second varsity eight. The Buckeyes are the fifth rowing team to win two-straight crowns and the first since Brown in 2007 and 2008. The Ohio State first varsity eight, made up Aina Cid Centelles, Elodie Ravera, Eelkje Miedema, Ashley Bauer, Stephanie Williams, Catherine Shields, Holly Norton, Claire-Louise Bode and coxswain Victoria Lazur, crossed the finish line in 6:44.48 to close out the season with a perfect 12-0 record. The second varsity eight crew of Daphne Socha, Chloe Meyer, Nicole Becks, Lauren Eckles, Meghan Birkbeck, Anne Dietrich, Katie King, Taylore Urban and coxswain Sami Jurofsky posted a winning time of 6:59.43, less than three seconds ahead of second-place Princeton. For more NCAA coverage, click HERE.

On To The Main Event: Four Big Ten teams were selected for the 2014 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships as Indiana, Michigan, Ohio State and Wisconsin earned berths into the national event, marking the fifth time in the last six years four conference teams have participated in the NCAA Championships. For the full release, click HERE.

We Are The Champions Pt. 2: Ohio State won its fifth Big Ten title at the 2014 Big Ten Rowing Championships at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis. The crown marked the second-consecutive conference title for the Buckeyes and third in the last four years. Ohio State recorded 164 points, a new championships record, on the strength of five first-place finishes. The Buckeyes tallied wins in the first varsity eight, second varsity eight, first varsity four, second varsity four and third varsity four races. For complete coverage of the Big Ten Championships, click HERE and HERE.

And The Awards Go To: The Big Ten office announced on Wednesday, May 21, the rowing individual award winners, as chosen by the conference coaches. Ohio State's Catherine Shields was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Indiana's Alice Wright was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Buckeye head coach Andy Teitelbaum earned Coach of the Year honors. For more on the end of the year honors, click HERE.

Regional Honors: Eighteen Big Ten rowers were named to the All-Central Region teams by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches of America (CRCA). Nominated student-athletes were evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches' recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must have been eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams' varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season. For the complete list of Big Ten honorees, click HERE.

National Recognition: Eleven Big Ten rowers earned All-America recognition by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA), it was announced on Monday, June 9th. The full list of Big Ten honorees can be found HERE.

Coach Em Up: The Indiana rowing coaching staff was named Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) Central Region Staff of the Year and Division I Staff of the Year. The Hoosiers' staff led Indiana to its first NCAA Championships berth where IU finished 11th overall. Indiana spent most of the season ranked No. 13 in the CRCA/USRowing Coaches poll. The Hoosiers finished fourth at the Big Ten Championships, the program's best finish at the championships. Additionally, head coach Steve Peterson was tabbed Central Regional Coach of the Years and Division I Coach of the Year.

Head Of The Class: Thirty-one Big Ten rowers were tabbed scholar athletes by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA). To be eligible for the honor, student-athlete must have met all eligibility rules as defined by her institution, be in at least her second year of eligibility, rowed in her institution's NCAA or IRA eligible boat(s) for a minimum of 75% of the season's races and have at least a 3.5 cumulative GPA. For the complete list of Big Ten honorees, click HERE.

Academic All-District: Wisconsin's Elizabeth Schoenfeldt was named to the Capital One Academic All-District, it was announced on Thursday, May 15th. The Academic All-District team recognizes the nation's top student-athletes for their performances in the classroom and athletically. The complete list of Big Ten honorees can be found HERE.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/54988

Leave a comment