Big Ten Medal of Honor Mondays: Purdue

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

During the Big Ten's celebration of the 100th Anniversary of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, the conference will be featuring "Medal of Honor Mondays" for 12 consecutive weeks, which will highlight a number of Medal of Honor winners from each school. This week, we feature Purdue University.

Robbie Hummel (2012, men's basketball)
A 2012 recipient of the Big Ten Medal of Honor, Hummel was a three-time first-team All-Big Ten selection, finishing his collegiate career with 1,772 points, 862 rebounds and 268 assists. The three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree was Purdue's first-ever Senior CLASS Award winner, and also helped lead Team USA to the bronze medal at the 2009 World University Games. A two-time Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American, Hummel played internationally for one year before signing with the NBA's Minnesota Timberwolves in September 2013. The Valparaiso, Ind., native played in 53 games during his rookie season. Hummel's father, Glenn, was Illinois' 1976 Big Ten Medal of Honor winner.

Ariel Turner (2012, women's volleyball)
Purdue's Ariel Turner is the university's only women's volleyball player to earn the Big Ten Medal of Honor. The 2012 Capital One Academic All-American of the Year, Turner was a two-time Academic All-America honoree, two-time AVCA All-America honoree, a Senior CLASS Award finalist and unanimous All-Big Ten selection in 2011. Turner also was the 2011 Big Ten Player of the Year and a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection.

Drew Brees (2001, football)
Drew Brees ended his collegiate career holding numerous school and conference records en route to winning Big Ten Medal of Honor laurels in 2001. He was not only an All-American and a Maxwell Award winner on the field, but he was also named Academic All-America of the Year as a senior. He guided the Boilermakers to the Big Ten Championship in 2000 and their first Rose Bowl appearance since 1967. Drafted in 2001, he is currently an 8-time Pro-Bowler. Brees won Super Bowl XLIV in 2009 and was named game MVP. He became one of the many faces of the New Orleans community following the Hurricane Katrina tragedy by establishing numerous charitable foundations to help the area in its recovery.

Stephanie White (1999, women's basketball)
A 1999 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipient, Purdue's Stephanie White is the only player in conference history to record more than 2,000 points, 500 assists and 250 steals. After leading the Boilermakers to the national title in 1999, White earned the Honda Award and Wade Trophy and was named Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year. The 1999 Academic All-American of the Year, White was a two-time All-American and Academic All-American. Following her collegiate career, White played five seasons in the WNBA before entering the coaching realm. Formerly an assistant coach with the Indiana Fever, White will begin as head coach next season. She currently serves as a college basketball analyst for BTN and ESPN. She was inducted into the Purdue Hall of Fame in 2005.

Joy Holmes (1991, women's basketball)
Purdue's first women's basketball All-American, Holmes earned the Big Ten Medal of Honor in 1991, the same year she was named Big Ten Player of the Year and Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year. She ranks among the Top 10 in various Boilermaker career categories, including third in steals (323), fourth in field-goal percentage (56 percent), sixth in field goals (682) and free throws made (372), seventh in points (1,747) and blocks (131) and ninth in rebounds (744). The Mansfield, Ohio, native was a three-time first team All-Big Ten selection and led Purdue to the 1991 Big Ten Championship and three NCAA Tournament appearances. Holmes was named to the Big Ten's All-Decade Team and has been inducted into the Purdue Hall of Fame. Her son, Gary Harris, played basketball for Michigan State and was the 2013 Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Jane Neff (1983, women's volleyball)
Purdue's first recognized volleyball All-American, Jane Neff was awarded the Big Ten Medal of Honor in 1983. The four-year letterwinner led the Boilermakers to a Big Ten Championship in her senior season (1982) and two NCAA Tournament berths. A middle hitter, Neff ranks in the Purdue Top 10 in seven career categories, including fourth in total blocks (523). She also holds the record for most solo blocks in a season (75) and led the Boilermakers in hitting percentage and total blocks for three of her four seasons.  The Kettering, Ohio, native was Purdue's team MVP in 1981 and 1982 and was tabbed a first-team Academic All-American in 1982. She was named to the Big Ten All-Decade team in 1992 and inducted into the Purdue Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame in 1994.

John Konsek (1960, men's golf)
John Konsek won the Big Ten Medal of Honor in 1960. Konsek's Boilermaker teams were Big Ten champions from 1958-60, and he was an All-American all three of those years. He also was the Big Ten individual champion for those three consecutive seasons, once beating Ohio State's Jack Nicklaus by two strokes in the 1960 Big Ten Tournament. Nicklaus once said: "If John had turned professional, he definitely would be in the Hall of Fame." While Nicklaus became the world's top golfer, Konsek went on to be a physician specializing in internal medicine.

John Wooden (1932, men's basketball)
John Wooden was named the Big Ten Medal of Honor honoree in 1932, after winning the national championship and graduating with a degree in English. He was the first player to be named an All-American three times while at Purdue. As a coach at UCLA, Wooden's Bruins won an unprecedented 10 championships in a 12-year period and achieved an 88-game winning streak. Wooden was named national coach of the year six times and became the first person ever to be enshrined in the Basketball Hall of Fame as both a player (1961) and a coach (1973).  Wooden's "Pyramid of Success," which simply describes how to be successful in both sports and life, is still referenced regularly to this day.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment