Former Student-Athletes From Big-Ten Programs Earn Medals at FIL World Championship

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
At the conclusion of the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship in Commerce City, Colo., former student-athletes from current Big Ten men's lacrosse programs earned a combined 12 medals for Canada and the United States. The medals included one gold for Canada and 11 silver for the United States.

In the championship game, Canada jumped out to a 3-1 lead at halftime. After falling behind 8-2, the United States three scored three unanswered goals, but Canada prevailed in an 8-5 decision, winning its third gold medal.

Former student-athletes from current Big Ten programs who earned medals are listed below:

Canada, gold medal

Jesse King, Ohio State

USA, silver medal
Michael Evans, Johns Hopkins
Tucker Durkin, Johns Hopkins
Kyle Harrison, Johns Hopkins
Paul Rabil, Johns Hopkins
Jesse Schwartzman, Johns Hopkins
Jesse Bernhardt, Maryland
Daniel Burns, Maryland
Lee Zink, Maryland
Kevin Buchanan, Ohio State
Drew Adams, Penn State
Greg Gurenlian, Penn State

In June 2013, the Big Ten announced the addition of men's and women's lacrosse as the conference's 27th and 28th sports, and that Johns Hopkins had been accepted as a sport affiliate member for men's lacrosse beginning with the 2014-15 academic year. Big Ten competition in both men's and women's lacrosse will feature Maryland, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers, with Johns Hopkins participating in men's lacrosse and Northwestern competing in women's lacrosse.

The six programs that will comprise Big Ten men's lacrosse boast 56 national championships, with schools that have competed for more than a century.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment