Team USA Names Former Student-Athletes From Big Ten Institutions To Men's World Championship Lacrosse Roster

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

US Lacrosse announced its 23-man roster that will compete in the Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship, July 10-19, in Commerce City, Colo. Of the 23 players selected, 11 hail from current Big Ten programs.

The tryouts, which lasted 11 months and included 98 players, was narrowed to 31 players who attended a training camp in Connecticut and Massachusetts and competed in the Major League Lacrosse All-Star Game at Harvard Stadium in Cambridge, Mass. Paul Rabil, a former standout at Johns Hopkins, returns from the 2010 FIL World Championship gold medal team, where he received most valuable player and All-World honors.

Former student-athletes from current Big Ten programs selected for the FIL World Championship team are listed below:

Kevin Buchanan, Ohio State
Dan Burns, Maryland
Kyle Harrison, Johns Hopkins
Paul Rabil, Johns Hopkins

Jesse Bernhardt, Maryland
Tucker Durkin, Johns Hopkins
Michael Evans, Johns Hopkins
Lee Zink, Maryland

Drew Adams, Penn State
Jesse Schwartzman, Johns Hopkins

Greg Gurenlian, Penn State

In June 2013, the Big Ten announced the addition of men's and women's lacrosse as the conference's 27th and 28th sports, and that Johns Hopkins had been accepted as a sport affiliate member for men's lacrosse beginning with the 2014-15 academic year. Big Ten competition in both men's and women's lacrosse will feature Maryland, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers, with Johns Hopkins participating in men's lacrosse and Northwestern competing in women's lacrosse.

The six programs that will comprise Big Ten men's lacrosse boast 56 national championships, with schools that have competed for more than a century.


No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment