Recently in Fall Sports Category

Nine Field Hockey Standouts Earn All-America Recognition

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Nine Big Ten field hockey standouts were named to 2013 Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-American Teams, it was announced on Tuesday. Big Ten Player of the Year Rachael Mack of Michigan was tabbed a first-team selection, while Iowa's Natalie Cafone, Northwestern's Nikki Parsley, and Penn State's Laura Gebhart and Brittany Grzywacz were second-team picks. Indiana's Audra Heilman, Iowa's Dani Hemeon, Michigan State's Abby Barker and Northwestern's Tara Puffenberger claimed third-team honors.

For the complete teams, click here.

Michigan State's Narduzzi Named Finalist for Broyles Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Michigan State defensive coordinator Pat Narduzzi was named one of five finalists for the Broyles Award, annually given to the nation's top assistant coach, the organization announced Monday. Under Narduzzi, the Michigan State defense leads the nation in total defense, allowing just 237.7 yards per game. The Spartans also rank fourth in the nation in scoring defense with 11.8 points per game, a total that leads the conference.

Since the inception of the Broyles Award in 1996, the Big Ten has one winner in Ohio State's Jim Heacock (2007). The 2013 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, Dec. 10, at 11:30 a.m. CT.

Eight Volleyball Squads Ranked in AVCA Top 25

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Eight Big Ten volleyball teams are ranked in the AVCA Division I Coaches poll, released on Monday. Penn State stays at No. 2 for the seventh straight week, while Nebraska and Minnesota join the Nittany Lions in the top 10 at No. 9 and No. 10, respectively. Wisconsin is ranked No. 13, followed by No. 18 Illinois, No. 19 Purdue, No. 20 Michigan State and No. 24 Michigan.

For the full poll, click here.

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has selected Northwestern's Trevor Siemian and Penn State's Christian Hackenberg as two of eight quarterbacks among its "Stars of the Week." Siemian set a career-high with 414 yards, completing 31-of-44 passes with four touchdowns in the Wildcats' 37-34 road win over Illinois. Against No. 15 Wisconsin, Hackenberg registered his fourth 300-yard game with a career-high four touchdown passes, helping the Nittany Lions defeat the Badgers, 31-24.

College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week. Click here to vote for the top quarterback performance last week.

Montee Ball and Terrelle Pryor have been nominated as finalists for the Rose Bowl Game All-Century Class as representatives from the 2010's. The candidates, as voted by an esteemed panel from the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), are the eleventh, and final, of a series of names that have been unveiled each Sunday throughout the college football regular season. In commemoration of the 100th Rose Bowl Game, the All-Century Class will highlight and honor great players and coaches throughout the history of The Granddaddy of Them All.

At running back for the University of Wisconsin, Ball was twice recognized as the best at his position in the Big Ten Conference and a consensus first-team All-American. He currently holds the NCAA Division I-FBS record for most career rushing touchdowns with 77 and the NCAA Division I-FBS record for most career total touchdowns with 83. In the 2011 Rose Bowl Game, Ball ran for 132 yards and scored one touchdown on 22 carries against TCU. His 132 rush yards, 22 carries and 6.0 yards per carry all are ninth-most in UW bowl history; and his 40-yard run ties for 10th-longest in UW bowl history. In the 2012 Rose Bowl Game, Ball ran for 164 yards and one touchdown on 32 carries versus Oregon and lastly, in the 2013 Rose Bowl Game, he rushed for 100 yards and scored one touchdown. Ball became the first player in history to rush for 100 yards in three consecutive Rose Bowl Games.

Pryor played the best game of his young collegiate career in the 2010 matchup against Oregon. The sophomore racked up career highs in completions (23), pass attempts (37) and passing yards (266). During the 26-17 victory over the Ducks, Pryor threw two touchdowns and ran for a game-high 72 yards on 20 carries. His efforts also earned him Player of the Game honors. The Buckeyes entered the contest having lost three consecutive BCS games, but Pryor's dazzling performance led Ohio State to its first Rose Bowl Game win since 1997. Pryor was a three-year starter for the Buckeyes, earning Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors in 2008 and All-Big Ten Honorable Mention in 2008, 2009 and 2010. In the two-plus years that Pryor led the Buckeyes at quarterback, Ohio State went 31-5, including a 2-1 record in BCS bowl games.

The FWAA voting committee will select one Rose Bowl Game representative from each decade to comprise the All-Century Class. In addition, one overall player and one overall coach will be highlighted at a press conference on Selection Sunday, which will take place on Dec. 8, 2013, in Pasadena.

For more information on the 100th Rose bowl Game, please visit

Five Big Ten Teams Receiving Votes in Latest Polls

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Five Big Ten teams are receiving votes in the latest Associated Press, USA Today Coaches and Harris Interactive polls, including two teams among the top 10. Ohio State improved to 12-0 on the season with a 42-41 win at Michigan, and moved to No. 2 in all three national polls. Michigan State climbed to No. 10 in the AP and Harris poll and No. 9 in the coaches' ballot after a 14-3 win over Minnesota. The Buckeyes and Spartans, who both finished their conference seasons with unbeaten records, are set to meet in the Big Ten Football Championship Game on Saturday, Dec. 7, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. Wisconsin moved to No. 21 in all three ballots. Iowa and Minnesota received votes in both the AP and coaches'  polls.
The Walter Camp Football Foundation announced that Iowa linebacker Christian Kirksey has been named the Football Bowl Subdivision National Defensive Player of the Week, presented by Generation UCAN, for games ending Nov. 30. Kirksey recorded 11 tackles, including three for losses, one sack, one forced fumble and one quarterback hurry in the Hawkeyes' 38-17 win over Nebraska. With the win, Iowa improved to 8-4, 5-3 in the Big Ten. Kirksey is the third Hawkeye player to earn Walter Camp Defensive Player of the Week honors since 2004, joining former Iowa linebackers Chad Greenway (Sept. 5, 2004) and Mike Klinkenborg (Sept. 17, 2006).

Saturday's Results

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
November 30th
#20 PURDUE def. #19 MICHIGAN STATE, 3-2
#11 MINNESOTA def. #18 ILLINOIS, 3-0
#2 PENN STATE def. #10 NEBRASKA, 3-1

Saturday's Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
November 30th
#19 MICHIGAN STATE at #20 PURDUE - 7 p.m., BTDN
#11 MINNESOTA at #18 ILLINOIS - 8 p.m.
#2 PENN STATE at #10 NEBRASKA - 8 p.m., BTN

All times are ET

Friday's Result

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
November 29th
#23 MICHIGAN def. INDIANA, 3-1
Multimedia Store