Recently in Fall Sports Category

Six Players Named College Boot Award Finalists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Six Big Ten women's soccer players were named finalists for the 2013 College Boot Award, which recognizes the top player in women's college soccer. The conference's finalists include Illinois' Jannelle Flaws, Indiana's Shannon Flower and Lisa Nouanesengsy, Nebraska's Jordan Jackson and Penn State's Whitney Church and Maya Hayes.

Flaws finished the season with 23 goals, which is currently tied for first in the NCAA. The Big Ten Forward of the Year helped lead the Illini to the third round of the NCAA Tournament.

Flower collected 87 saves and recorded nine shutouts. She helped guide the Hoosiers to the second round of the NCAA Tournament for the third time in program history. Nouanesengsy finished the 2013 campaign with 25 points, including 11 goals and three assists. She was named second-team All-Big Ten.

Jackson, who was named the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year, scored nine goals and tallied 11 assists this season, helping lead the Cornhuskers to their first Big Ten Championship and Big Ten Tournament title in school history.

Church played in all 23 games, scoring four goals and collecting one assist. She was a second-team All-Big Ten selection and helped the Nittany Lions reach the second round of the NCAA Tournament. Hayes scored a team-high 19 goals to go along with six assists and was named first-team All-Big Ten.

Fans will be able to vote for their top collegiate player until December 18. To vote, click here.

Two Linebackers Tabbed Lott IMPACT Trophy Finalists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Two Big Ten linebackers are among the four finalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, it was announced on Tuesday. Iowa's James Morris and Wisconsin's Chris Borland are up for the IMPACT Trophy, which is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Each finalist will be honored at the 10th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy banquet on Dec. 8. Two former conference standouts have won the trophy, Ohio State's James Laurinaitis in 2008 and Wisconsin's J.J. Watt in 2010.

The College of Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced the men's soccer Academic All-America teams, with Indiana's A.J. Corrado and Ohio State's Alex Ivanov earning third-team honors.

Corrado studies biology and maintains a 3.64 cumulative grade point average. Last season, he was an Academic All-District, Academic All-Big Ten and first-team All-Big Ten selection. Corrado helped lead the Hoosiers to the Big Ten Tournament title, and scored three goals to go along with seven assists this season. He was named second-team All-Big Ten.

An electric and computer engineer major, Ivanov boasts a 3.80 cumulative GPA. He is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection, and is the first Buckeye in program history to be named an Academic All-American. Ivanov finished the season with 110 saves and eight shutouts, earning a spot on the All-Big Ten second team.

Illinois' DiBernardo Named Second-Team Academic All-American

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Vanessa DiBernardo of the Illinois women's soccer team was named a second-team Capital One Academic All-American, the College of Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced Tuesday.

The senior midfielder studies recreation, sport & tourism, and carries a 3.70 cumulative grade point average. She has been named Academic All-District three times, including a first-team nod in 2013. DiBernardo is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree, a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and an NSCAA Scholar All-American.

DiBernardo finished the season with seven goals and seven assists, helping lead the Illini to the "Sweet 16" of the NCAA Tournament. She currently holds the school record with 22 career assists and ranks third with 43 goals.

Three Teams Recognized in Latest Top 25 Poll

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Top Drawer Soccer released its weekly top 25 women's soccer poll, with three Big Ten teams garnering recognition. Michigan led the way at No. 6, followed by No. 10 Nebraska and No. 19 Penn State.

Michigan will play in the "Elite 8" of the NCAA Tournament on Friday. The Wolverines will face Virginia at 7 p.m. ET in Charlottesville, Va. The Wolverines will seek a trip to the College Cup for the first time in program history.

For the complete Top Drawer Soccer poll, click here.

Two Teams Ranked in Lastest Top 25 Poll

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Two Big Ten men's soccer teams received recognition in the latest Top Drawer Soccer top 25 poll. Penn State checked in at No. 13, while Michigan State followed at No. 14.

Both teams will play in the third round of the NCAA Tournament on Sunday. At 1 p.m. ET, Michigan State will face Georgetown, while Penn State will play New Mexico at 7 p.m. ET.

For the complete Top Drawer Soccer poll, click here.

Purdue's Cody Webster Tabbed Finalist for Ray Guy Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Purdue's Cody Webster has been named a finalist for the 2013 Ray Guy Award, honoring the nation's top punter. Webster is currently tied for first in the conference in punting, averaging 43.5 yards per punt. The winner of the Guy Award will be announced live on ESPN on Dec. 12. Three Big Ten punters have earned the honor since first awarded in 2000, with Ohio State's B.J. Sander the last in 2003.  

Ohio State's Shazier Named Finalist for Butkus Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Ohio State's Ryan Shazier was named a finalist for the Butkus Award, given annually to the nation's outstanding linebacker. Shazier currently leads the Big Ten in tackles and tackles for loss. The junior averages 9.8 stops per game and has totaled 19.5 tackles for loss this season. He is also first in fumbles forced (4) and tied for seventh in sacks (5.5). Nine standouts from current Big Ten schools have claimed the Butkus Award, most recently when the Buckeyes James Laurinaitis was honored in 2007. The Butkus Award is named for former Illinois linebacker Dick Butkus, who was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1979 following an illustrious career with the Chicago Bears.

Eight Volleyball Teams Ranked in AVCA Top 25

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Eight Big Ten volleyball squads are ranked in the AVCA Division I Coaches poll, released on Monday. Penn State stays at No. 2 for the sixth straight week, while Nebraska joins the Nittany Lions in the top 10 at No. 10. Minnesota comes in at No. 11, followed by No. 13 Wisconsin, No. 18 Illinois, No. 19 Michigan State, No. 20 Purdue and No. 23 Michigan.

Click here for the full ranking.

Saturday's Results

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
November 23rd
#25 PURDUE def. IOWA, 3-1
#15 WISCONSIN def. #18 MICHIGAN, 3-2
#2 PENN STATE def. #20 ILLINOIS, 3-1

Multimedia Store