Recently in Men's Soccer Category

MSOC: Five Conference Squads Ranked in Preseason Top 25

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Five Big Ten men's soccer teams have earned top-25 rankings in the NSCAA/Continental Tire preseason poll, released on Tuesday. Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State and Penn State each appear in the top 25, tying the Big Ten with the ACC for the most teams in the poll with five.

After capping a 2010 season with a Big Ten Tournament title and its first NCAA College Cup appearance, Michigan leads the way for conference teams at No. 9. Ohio State follows at No. 15 in the poll, while reigning Big Ten Champion Indiana checks in at No. 17, Penn State holds No. 18 and Michigan State opens the season at No. 19.

Click here to see the complete poll.

Four Big Ten players were chosen in the Major League Soccer Supplemental Draft on Tuesday. The quartet of midfielders brings the conference's total number of selections to 11 after seven players were taken in the MLS SuperDraft last week.

Ohio State's Sam Scales was taken 10th overall by Sporting Kansas City, followed by Michigan State's Spencer Thompson, who was selected 26th overall by Toronto FC. Penn State's Andrew Cost was chosen by Real Salt Lake with the 32nd overall pick, while Indiana's Andy Adlard went 48th overall to the Columbus Crew.

MSCR: Seven Big Ten Players Selected in MLS SuperDraft

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Seven Big Ten men's soccer players were chosen in the MLS SuperDraft, which took place on Thursday in Baltimore. The field of selected conference players included four first-round selections, one second-round choice and two third-round picks.

Indiana forward Will Bruin was taken 11th overall by the Houston Dynamo, while former teammate Rich Balchan was chosen with the next pick by the Columbus Crew. Penn State forward Corey Hertzog was selected 13th overall by the New York Red Bulls. Columbus also took Michigan forward Justin Meram 15th overall, rounding out the Big Ten players taken in the first round.

Michigan State defender Colin Givens was selected by the Colorado Rapids with the 18th pick of the second round. Former Ohio State teammates Matt Gold and Konrad Warzycha were both chosen in the third round, with Gold getting picked by Toronto FC with the seventh selection and Warzycha going to Sporting Kansas City with the 10th pick.

Indiana forward Will Bruin and Penn State forward Corey Hertzog signed Generation adidas contracts with Major League Soccer last week, foregoing their final seasons of eligibility. Bruin and Hertzog are now eligible for the 2011 MLS SuperDraft, which is set to take place on Jan. 13 in Baltimore.

Bruin, the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, a MAC Hermann Trophy finalist and a first-team All-American, racked up 41 points on 18 goals and five assists to lead Indiana to its 12th Big Ten title. Hertzog, a second-team All-American, tied a Big Ten record with 20 goals and posted the second-highest single-season point total in conference history with 46.

Generation adidas contracts provide the opportunity for players to leave college early and continue to develop their soccer careers in MLS. The salaries of these players are greater than the league minimum and the players are also provided educational funds should they decide to return to school. Their salaries also do not count against a club's salary budget, allowing teams to afford them time to develop.

MSCR: In the Polls

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Five Big Ten men's soccer teams have earned top-25 rankings in the final NSCAA/HendrickCars.com national poll of the 2010 season. After advancing to the first College Cup in program history, Michigan (17-5-3) leads the way at No. 4. Michigan State (13-7-2) rounds out the year ranked No. 15, followed by Ohio State (11-6-3) at No. 17, Penn State (14-8-1) at No. 18 and Indiana (10-8-2) at No. 20.

To see the complete NSCAA/HendrickCars men's soccer poll, click here.

MSCR: Michigan Falls to Akron in College Cup Semifinals

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

No. 10 Michigan dropped a 2-1 decision to No. 3 Akron on Friday night in the NCAA College Cup. The Wolverines opened the scoring with a goal in the second minute of the match, but the Zips tallied two unanswered markers to earn the win. Justin Meram scored his fifth goal of the NCAA Championship just over a minute into the game, giving Michigan a 1-0 lead. Akron tied the match in the 33rd minute and took the lead in the 74th minute. The Wolverines close the 2010 season with a 17-5-3 overall record.

MSCR: Four Players Named to NSCAA All-America Teams

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The NSCAA/Performance Subaru Men's NCAA Division I All-America Teams have been announced, with four Big Ten players earning the honors.

Indiana forward and Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year Will Bruin takes home first-team accolades, while Michigan forward Soony Saad and Penn State midfielder Matheus Braga and forward Corey Hertzog each earn second-team status. All four players earn the honor for the first time in their careers.

MSCR: Indiana's Bruin Named MAC Hermann Trophy Finalist

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Indiana forward Will Bruin has been named a finalist for the 2010 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy, given to the nation's top men's soccer player. Bruin, the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, finished the 2010 season with 41 points on 18 goals and five assists, leading the Hoosiers to their 12th Big Ten title and 24th consecutive NCAA Championship appearance.

Bruin, along with fellow finalists Darlington Nagbe of Akron and Colin Rolfe of Louisville, will travel to St. Louis on Jan. 7 to find out the winner of the 2010 MAC Hermann Trophy.

MSCR: Fourteen Players Earn All-Region Honors

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Fourteen Big Ten men's soccer players have earned NSCAA/Performance Subaru All-Great Lakes Region honors, as announced on Friday. The Big Ten contingent of All-Region honorees is made up of six first-team selections, three second-team selections and five third-team selections.

Indiana forward Will Bruin, Michigan forward Soony Saad, Ohio State goalkeeper Matt Lampson and midfielder Konrad Warzycha and Penn State midfielder Matheus Braga and forward Corey Hertzog highlight the first-team honorees.

Michigan forward Justin Meram, Michigan State defender Colin Givens and Ohio State defender David Tiemstra each earned second-team accolades. Indiana midfielder Andy Adlard and defender Rich Balchan, Michigan State forward Domenic Barone and midfielder Spencer Thompson and Northwestern forward Oliver Kupe represent the conference on the third team.

MSCR: Six Players Invited to 2011 MLS Combine

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Six Big Ten men's soccer players have been invited to the 2011 adidas Major League Soccer Player Combine, as announced on Thursday. Indiana defender Rich Balchan, Michigan forward Justin Meram, Michigan State defender Colin Givens, Ohio State midfielders Matt Gold and Konrad Warzycha and Penn State midfielder Matheus Braga are among the 54 invitees to the combine, which takes place on Jan. 7-11 in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

The 2011 MLS SuperDraft is scheduled for Jan. 13 in Baltimore.