Recently in Men's Soccer Category

MSCR: Five Teams Earn Bids to NCAA Championship

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Five Big Ten teams will compete in the NCAA Men's Soccer Championship, the selection committee announced on Monday. Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State and Penn State have all earned berths to the national tournament, which begins Thursday. The selections mark the third straight year and the fourth time in conference history that five or more teams have earned bids to the tournament.

Click here to see the complete release from the Big Ten.

The 2010 NCAA Men's Soccer Championship bracket can be found here.

MSCR: Michigan Earns Big Ten Tournament Title

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

No. 3 Michigan earned a 4-1 win over No. 4 Penn State to claim its first Big Ten Tournament title on Sunday afternoon. The Wolverines jumped out to a 2-0 lead early on, with Soony Saad scoring in the fourth minute and Justin Meram adding another goal in the 13th. Meram scored his second of the afternoon in the 30th minute to push Michigan's lead to 3-0. Drew Cost tallied Penn State's lone goal of the contest in the 43rd minute to leave the score at 3-1 entering halftime. The Wolverines notched their fourth goal on a Hamoody Saad penalty kick in the 52nd minute. The win gives Michigan the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

MSCR: Big Ten Tournament Championship Underway

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Big Ten Men's Soccer Tournament championship game is now underway at Jeffrey Field in University Park, Pa. Host and No. 4 seed Penn State takes on No. 3 Michigan for the tournament title and a berth to the NCAA Championship.

MSCR: No. 4 Penn State Takes Down No. 1 Indiana, 2-1

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Fourth-seeded Penn State took a 2-1 decision over top-seeded Indiana on Friday to advance to Sunday's Big Ten Tournament championship. The Hoosiers scored just over three minutes into the match on a goal from Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year Will Bruin, but the host Nittany Lions took the next two to seal the win. Corey Hertzog notched his 17th goal of the season and third of the tournament in the 11th minute to tie the match before Justin Lee tallied the game-winner in the 70th minute. Penn State will take on No. 3 Michigan in the Big Ten Tournament championship on Sunday at 1 p.m. ET.

Big Ten Freshman of the Year Soony Saad scored with 13 minutes remaining in regulation time to lead No. 3 Michigan past No. 7 Wisconsin, 1-0, in Friday's first semifinal match. The Wolverines advance to their first Big Ten Tournament championship game since 2002 and will face the winner of No. 1 Indiana versus No. 4 Penn State on Sunday.

MSCR: Big Ten Tournament Semifinals Set for 1 p.m. ET

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Big Ten Men's Soccer Tournament semifinals are set to begin today at 1 p.m. ET in University Park, Pa. No. 3 Michigan takes on No. 7 Wisconsin in the first match of the day with No. 1 Indiana versus No. 4 Penn State following at approximately 3:30 p.m. ET. Both matches will be broadcast live on the Big Ten Network.

MSCR: Big Ten Postseason Honors Announced

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Big Ten Conference announced its men's soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners at the Big Ten Tournament banquet on Thursday evening. Indiana's Will Bruin takes home Offensive Player of the Year accolades, while Ohio State's David Tiemstra earns the Defensive Player of the Year award and Michigan's Soony Saad receives Freshman of the Year honors. Indiana head coach Todd Yeagley reels in the Coach of the Year award.

Click here to read about the men's soccer All-Big Ten teams.

No. 4 Penn State defeated No. 5 Northwestern, 3-1, to advance to the Big Ten Tournament semifinals. The Wildcats tallied a goal with under a minute to play in the first half, but the Nittany Lions notched three unanswered late in the second half, including two from Corey Hertzog, to take the match and move on to Friday's semifinal. Penn State will take on top-seeded Indiana for a spot in the final match.

Seventh-seeded Wisconsin pulled off the tournament's first upset, defeating No. 2 Ohio State in penalty kicks. Despite a 30-5 Buckeye edge in shots through regulation and overtime play, the Badgers converted on all five penalty kick chances, holding Ohio State to four. Badger goalkeeper Max Jentsch made 11 saves in the win. Wisconsin will take on No. 3 Michigan in tomorrow's first semifinal match.

MSCR: Michigan Defeats Michigan State, 2-1

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Third-seeded Michigan moves on to the Big Ten Tournament semifinals with a 2-1 win over No. 6 Michigan State. The Spartans' Rubin Bega opened the scoring in the 53rd minute to give Michigan State a 1-0 lead, but goals from Justin Meram and Soony Saad pushed the Wolverines in front for good. Michigan will take on the winner of today's No.2 Ohio State-No. 7 Wisconsin matchup in Friday's first semifinal game.