Recently in Women's Soccer Category

Candidates for the 2011 women's soccer Lowe's Senior CLASS Award were announced on Wednesday, with Michigan State's Laura Heyboer and Ohio State's Paige Maxwell making the list.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The pair of Big Ten forwards are among the 30 women's soccer players named candidates for the award, which will be narrowed down to 10 finalists midway through the season. Those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot, which will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

Click here to see the complete release.
Five Big Ten women's soccer players have been selected for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List, good for the second most of any conference. Illinois' Vanessa DiBernardo, Michigan State's Laura Heyboer, Nebraska's Morgan Marlborough, Ohio State's Paige Maxwell and Penn State's Christine Nairn have each earned spots on the 42-player list, which was announced on Monday.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, given to the nation's top player, is chosen by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. Voting for the award is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. The winner will be announced on Jan. 6, 2012.
Ohio State women's soccer player Cassie Dickerson and Wisconsin swimmer Maggie Meyer have been nominated for the 2011 NCAA Woman of the Year Award. Dickerson and Meyer represent the Big Ten among more than 140 nominees for the honor, which will be awarded in Indianapolis on Oct. 16.

The Woman of the Year Award, now in its 21st year, honors female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academic achievement, athletic excellence, community service and leadership.

Click here to read the complete release from the NCAA.

WSOC: Three Big Ten Teams Earn Top-25 Preseason Rankings

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Illinois, Minnesota and Ohio State have each earned top-25 consideration in the preseason NSCAA/Continental Tire NCAA women's soccer rankings, as announced on Tuesday. After earning a share of their first Big Ten championship and advancing to the NCAA College Cup last season, the Buckeyes lead the way for the conference contingent, standing at No. 8 in the country entering the 2011 campaign.

Ohio State returns seven starters from its 2010 club, which rounded out last season with a 17-5-2 overall record and an 8-2-0 mark in conference matches.

The Golden Gophers check in at No. 22, while the Fighting Illini hold No. 24 in the first poll of 2011. Minnesota concluded the 2010 season at 14-6-3 overall, advancing to the Round of 16 in the NCAA Championship. Illinois put together a 13-5-1 overall record en route to an appearance in the national tournament.

After taking a share of the Big Ten title last season, Penn State is receiving votes in the poll.

Click here to see the complete poll.

The Big Ten's celebration of Black History Month continues with a feature on former Ohio State women's soccer player Cassie Dickerson:

Cassie Dickerson is a young woman with several options.

Dickerson, who is currently wrapping up a sports law internship, will receive her degree from Ohio State next month. Her plans changed during the past school year, switching from veterinary school after graduation to entering law school. She has taken her law school admittance test and has applied to various schools including, Kansas, Missouri-Kansas City and Ohio State.

Click here to read the complete feature.

WSCR: In the Polls

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Two Big Ten women's soccer teams appear in the final NSCAA/HendrickCars.com poll of the 2010 season. After advancing to its first NCAA College Cup, Ohio State (17-5-2) closes the season ranked No. 4. Minnesota (14-6-3) also earns top-25 status after advancing to the NCAA round of 16, checking in at No. 21 in the final poll. Illinois (13-5-1), Wisconsin (11-4-5) and Penn State (11-9-1) are each receiving votes.

Click here to see the final NSCAA/HendrickCars.com poll of the 2010 season.

WSCR: Illinois' Rayfield Named Regional Coach of the Year

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Illinois head coach Janet Rayfield has been named the 2010 NSCAA/Mondo Great Lakes Regional Coach of the Year, as announced on Wednesday. Rayfield guided the Illini to a 13-5-1 overall record and a 6-3-1 mark in Big Ten play en route to the team's seventh NCAA Championship appearance in the past eight seasons. Illinois closed out the regular season ranked No. 13 in the NSCAA/HendrickCars.com national poll. Two of Rayfield's players earned All-Region honors, while newcomer Vanessa DiBernardo was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

Click here to see the complete list of NSCAA/Mondo Regional Coaches of the Year.

WSCR: Big Ten Lands 16 Players on All-Region Team

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Sixteen Big Ten women's soccer players earned NSCAA/Performance Subaru NCAA Division I All-Great Lakes Region status, as announced earlier this week. Six players received first-team honors while five appeared on the second team and five took home third-team laurels.

Among the first-team All-Great Lakes Region honorees were Illinois midfielder Vanessa DiBernardo, Michigan State forward Laura Heyboer, Minnesota defender Kylie Kallman, Ohio State defender Cassie Dickerson and forward Paige Maxwell and Penn State midfielder Christine Nairn.

The second team included Illinois forward Jordan Hilbrands, Michigan State goalkeeper Jill Flietstra, Minnesota forward Katie Bethke, Ohio State midfielder Tiffany Cameron and Wisconsin midfielder Alev Kelter.

Rounding out the Big Ten's contingent of All-Region selections were Michigan forward Nkem Ezurike, Michigan State midfielder Cara Freeman, Minnesota goalkeeper Cat Parkhill, Penn State forward Danielle Toney and Purdue defender Liz Secue, who each earned third-team honors.

Click here to see the complete All-Great Lakes Region team.

WSCR: No. 3 Ohio State Falls to No. 4 Notre Dame, 1-0

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Third-seeded Ohio State fell to No. 4 Notre Dame, 1-0, in the NCAA College Cup semifinals on Friday afternoon. The Fighting Irish scored the lone goal of the match in the 83rd minute, holding the Buckeyes scoreless to earn the win. The teams went back and forth in the first half, resulting in a 7-4 Notre Dame edge in shots. The Fighting Irish out-shot the Buckeyes, 15-2, in the second half, connecting on a shot from just inside the 18-yard box by Mandy Laddish with just over seven minutes remaining to take the lead for good. Buckeye goalkeeper Katie Baumgardner made 10 saves in the loss. Ohio State closes the 2010 season with a 17-5-2 overall record.

WSCR: Four Players Named NSCAA All-Americans

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Four Big Ten women's soccer players were named NSCAA/Performance Subaru Division I All-Americans as announced on Friday.

Leading the contingent of conference honorees was Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and Ohio State defender Cassie Dickerson, who earned first-team honors. Penn State midfielder Christine Nairn checked in on the second team, while Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year Paige Maxwell earned third-team status. Michigan State forward Laura Heyboer became an All-American for the third-straight season, taking fourth-team laurels.

Click here to see the complete list of NSCAA/Performance Subaru Division I All-Americans.