Recently in Men's Cross Country Category

Five Teams Ranked in Latest Poll

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Five teams from the Big Ten garnered recognition in the latest USTFCCCA men's cross country top 30 poll. Wisconsin led the way at No. 10, followed by Indiana at No. 20, Michigan at No. 29, and Illinois and Michigan State tied for 30th.

Wisconsin finished first at the Badger Season Opener on Sept. 6. A strong finish at the Indiana Open on Sept. 7 allowed the Hoosiers to remain at No. 20. Michigan earned its No. 29 ranking after finishing third at the Purdue Invitational on Sept. 13, while Illinois made its first appearance in the poll. 

In Big Ten men's cross country this weekend, Indiana and Purdue will race in the Indiana Intercollegiates, while Nebraska will host the Nebraska Invitational. 

Weekend Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Weekend Schedule:

Friday, Sept. 13

ILLINOIS at Purdue Invitational

No. 20 INDIANA at Purdue Invitational

IOWA at Iowa Invite

No. 26 MICHIGAN at Purdue Invitational

No. 30 MICHIGAN STATE at Spartan Invitational

OHIO STATE at Purdue Invitational

PENN STATE at Harry Groves Invitational

PURUDE at Purdue Invitational

Saturday, Sept. 14

No. 7 WISCONSIN at Sycamore Invitational

Weekend Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
September 6
IOWA at Iowa Open - Iowa City, Iowa
MINNESOTA at Oz Memorial - Minneapolis, Minn.
NEBRASKA at Augustana Twilight - Sioux Falls, S.D.
PENN STATE at Dolan Duals - Lock Haven, Pa.
#7 WISCONSIN at Badger Season Opener - Madison, Wis.

September 7
#20 INDIANA at Indiana Open - Bloomington, Ind.

Weekend Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Friday, August 30th
ILLINOIS (rv) at Illini Challenge - Urbana, Ill.
#26 MICHIGAN at Michigan Open - Ann Arbor, Mich.
#30 MICHIGAN STATE at Jeff Drenth Memorial - Mt. Pleasant, Mich.
PURDUE at Michigan Open - Ann Arbor, Mich.

Saturday, August 31st
OHIO STATE at Flyer 5K Challenge - Dayton, Ohio
Five Big Ten men's cross country teams garnered recognition in the preseason USTFCCCA national coaches' top 30 poll, released on Tuesday. Defending Big Ten Champion Wisconsin leads the way at No. 7, followed by No. 20 Indiana, No. 26 Michigan and No. 30 Michigan State. Illinois was receiving votes in the poll. The 2013 cross country season officially begins this weekend. 

For the complete poll, click here.

Thirteen Big Ten Standouts Named Academic All-America

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Thirteen Big Ten student-athletes were named to the Capital One Academic All-America Track & Field/Cross Country Team, with Indiana's Andy Bayer being named Capital One Academic All-American of the Year. Four other standouts joined Bayer on the first team, with Michigan's Rebecca Addison, Minnesota's Quentin Mege, Nebraska's Bjorn Barrefors and Wisconsin's Elliot Krause earning recognition. Five school boast one first-team All-American, A complete list can be found below.

Marissa Golliday, ILL
Brandon Stryganek, ILL
Andy Bayer, IND*
Mareike Schrulle, IOWA
Rebecca Addison, MICH*
Jack Greenlee, MICH
Jillian Smith, MICH
Quentin Mege, MINN*
Bjorn Barrefors, NEB*
Mara Griva, NEB
Morgan Wilken, NEB
Robby Creese, PSU
Elliot Krause, WIS*

* - First Team Selection

Big Ten Men's Cross Country Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The 2012 Big Ten men's cross country season came to a close at the NCAA Championships, with three Big Ten teams placing in the top 25 at the national meet. Big Ten Champion Wisconsin finished second at the championships, placing four Badger runners in the top 50, while Indiana followed in 18th, Michigan in 23rd and Michigan State in 31st. Wisconsin's Mohammed Ahmed led the way for conference harriers, placing eighth individually, followed by teammates Maverick Darling in 11th and Reed Connor in 12th. All three Wisconin runners, along with Indiana's Zach Mayhew who finished 14th, earned All-America honors.

Big Ten Hauls in Regional Awards: Twenty-two Big Ten runners received USTFCCCA All-Region recognition by virtue of their top-25 finish at their respective regionals this season, second to only the SEC (23) among conferences. Michigan and Wisconsin led the way with five honorees each, while three Michigan State runners, two harriers from Illinois, Indiana, Penn State and Purdue, and one Ohio State runner were named to the team. Additionally, Wisconsin's Mohammed Ahmed was named the Great Lakes Region Athlete of the Year, while head coach Mick Byrne was tabbed Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year for the fourth time in five years. For complete regional results, click here.

Big Ten Championships Roundup: Wisconsin took home its 14th consecutive Big Ten Championship and the team's 46th overall title by placing four runners in the top 10. Maverick Darling and Mohammed Ahmed led the Badgers, placing second and third individually. Indiana's Zach Mayhew took home the individual crown, running the 8,000-meter course in 23:29. For the full Big Ten Championships recap and a list of All-Big Ten honorees, click here.

Big Ten Postseason Awards: After placing first at the Big Ten Championships, Indiana's Zach Mayhew was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year. Wisconsin head coach Mick Byrne collected his fifth straight Coach of the Year honor, while Purdue's Matt McClintock took home Freshman of the Year laurels after leading all newcomers with an eighth place finish at the conference meet. For more on the individual Big Ten award winners, click here

Four Big Ten Runners Earn All-America Honors

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Four Big Ten men's cross country standouts have received All-America honors by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA), it was announced on Monday. Indiana's Zach Mayhew and Wisconsin's Mohammed Ahmed, Maverick Darling and Reed Connor earned the distinction based on their finish at the NCAA Championships over the weekend.

Click here for the full release.  

In The Polls

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Four Big Ten men's cross country teams have earned top-30 rankings in the USTFCCCA National Coaches' Poll, released on Tuesday. Defending NCAA and Big Ten Champion Wisconsin leads the way for ranked conference squads, checking in at No. 4. Michigan follows at No. 13, while Indiana clocks in at No. 24. Michigan State rounds out the poll at No. 30. Illinois is receiving votes.

For the complete poll, click here.

Twenty-Two Big Ten Runners Named All-Region

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Twenty-twoBig Ten men's cross country runners have been named All-Region honorees after placing in the top 25 individually at their respective regional championships on Friday. The 22 honorees is the second to only the SEC (23) among conferences. The complete list of Big Ten All-Region honorees can be found below. For the complete list, click here.

Hunter Mickow, ILL
Jannis Topfer, ILL
Andy Bayer, IND
Zach Mayhew, IND
Mark Beams, MICH
Brendon Blacklaws, MICH
Dan Lowry, MICH
Zach Ornelas, MICH
Morsi Rayyan, MICH
Josh McAlary, MSU
Caleb Rhynard, MSU
Alex Wilson, MSU
Donnie Roys, OSU
Tyler Jones, PSU
Sam Masters, PSU
Johnnie Guy, PUR
Matt McClintock, PUR
Mohammed Ahmed, WIS
Alex Brill, WIS
Reed Connor, WIS
Maverick Darling, WIS
Robert Finnerty, WIS