Recently in Men's Golf Category

Weekend Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Oct. 5-6

ILLINOIS at The Macdonald Cup

Oct. 6-8

MICHIGAN at Erin Hills Collegiate

MICHIGAN STATE at Erin Hills Collegiate

NORTHWESTERN at Erin Hills Collegiate

WISCONSIN at Erin Hills Collegiate

Weekend Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Sept. 27-28
MINNESOTA at Tucker Invitational

Sept. 29-30
OHIO STATE at Jack Nicklaus Invitational
PURDUE at Jack Nicklaus Invitational

Sept. 29-Oct. 1
WISCONSIN at Badger Invitational

Monday's Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Sept. 23-24

MICHIGAN STATE at Fighting Irish Gridiron Classic

NEBRASKA at Mark Simpson CU Invitational

Weekend Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Weekend Schedule

Sept. 21-22

ILLINOIS at Wolf Run Intercollegiate

INDIANA at Wolf Run Intercollegiate

MINNESOTA at Wolf Run Intercollegiate

WISCONSIN at Wolf Run Intercollegiate

Sept. 22-23

IOWA at Windon Invitational

MICHIGAN at Windon Invitational

NORTHWESTERN at Windon Invitational

OHIO STATE at Windon Invitational

PENN STATE at Windon Invitational

Monday's Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Sept. 16-17

MICHIGAN at Wolverine Intercollegiate

MICHIGAN STATE at Wolverine Intercollegiate

NEBRASKA at Columbia NCAA Regional Preview

PENN STATE at Wolverine Intercollegiate

Weekend Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Weekend Schedule:

Sept. 13-15

ILLINOIS at Olympia Fields Fighting Illini Invitational

INDIANA at Olympia Fields Fighting Illini Invitational

NORTHWESTERN at Olympia Fields Fighting Illini Invitational

Sept. 15-16

PURDUE at D.A. Weibring Intercollegiate

Sept. 15-17

IOWA at Golfweek Conference Challenge

Three Men's Golf Teams Collect Preseason Recognition

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Three Big Ten men's golf squads earned recognition in the Preseason GolfWorld/Nike Golf Division I Coaches' Poll. Defending Big Ten Champion Illinois is ranked No. 14, while Northwestern and Iowa are receiving votes. The 2013 fall golf season gets underway this weekend, as give conference teams hit the links.

For the complete poll, click here.
Northwestern freshman golfer Matt Fitzpatrick has won the Mark H McCormack Medal as the leading men's amateur player in the 2013 World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR). Fitzpatrick has enjoyed an outstanding season, winning the Silver Medal as the leading amateur at The Open Championship, becoming the first Englishman to win the U.S. Amateur Championship since 1911 and reaching the final of the English Amateur Championship. He secured his place in the field for next year's Open Championship at Royal Liverpool, the U.S. Open at Pinehurst and will receive an invitation to play in The Masters.

2013 Men's Golf Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten enjoyed a successful 2013 men's golf campaign, highlighted by Illinois placing second at the NCAA Championships.

All-American Golfers: Big Ten Player of the Year Thomas Pieters and freshman Charlie Danielson claimed All-America honors. Pieters was an honorable mention selection by Golfweek, while Danielson earned the honor by finishing in the top 15 of stroke-play competition at the 2013 NCAA Championships. For the full release, click HERE.

Illini Place Second at NCAA Championships: Illinois placed second at the NCAA Men's Golf Championships, falling to Alabama in the match play finals. The Illini's Thomas Pieters secured a victory over Alabama's Justin Thomas (1 UP), but the Crimson Tide won 4-1 to clinch the title. The finish was the highest in program history, besting the 1941 team's tie for fourth place. It also is the highest finish by a northern school at the NCAA Championships since Minnesota won the 2002 NCAA title. For the full release, click HERE.

See you at Regionals: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa and Northwestern were selected to the 2013 Men's Golf Regionals on May 6. Additionally, Michigan State's Matthew Moseley, Minnesota's Erik Van Rooyen and Purdue's Adam Schenk competed as individuals. For the full release, click HERE.

All-Conference & Individual Honors: The Big Ten announced on May 1 the men's golf All-Conference teams and individual award winners with Illinois' Thomas Pieters taking home the Big Ten Player of the Year award. Teammate Thomas Detry was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Illini head coach Mike Small was tabbed Coach of the Year. For the full release, click HERE.

Take Five: Illinois won the Big Ten Men's Golf Championships on Sunday, shooting an 11-over 1,163 to clinch its fifth-straight, and 12th overall, conference title. The Illini bested second-place Minnesota (1,172) by nine strokes to win the crown. The Illini and Gophers were followed by third-place Iowa (1,186), while Indiana and Ohio State (1,190) tied for fourth. For the full release, click HERE.
Twenty-two Big Ten student-athletes earned first-team Capital One Academic All-District honors, as announced on Thursday. The honorees are now eligible for Academic All-America consideration. The complete list of Big Ten Academic All-District award recipients can be found below.

Men's At-Large Academic All-District

District II
Matt Brown, Penn State - wrestling

District V
Bruno Abdelnour, Illinois - tennis
Richard Funk, Michigan - swimming & diving
Connor Jaeger, Michigan - swimming & diving
Michael Newburger, Ohio State - gymnastics
Max Stearns, Ohio State - fencing
Jamie Bissett, Purdue - swimming & diving

District VI
Garret Dunn, Iowa - tennis
Kevin Steinhaus, Minnesota - wrestling

District VII
Josh Ihnen, Nebraska - wrestling
Jordan Reinertson, Nebraska - golf

Women's At-Large Academic All-District

District II
Kelsey Amy, Penn State - field hockey
Tatum Coffey, Penn State - lacrosse
Gabi Shishkoff, Penn State - swimming & diving

District V
Caroline Powers, Michigan State - golf
Michelle Williams, Ohio State - swimming & diving
Lauren Gustafson, Purdue, swimming & diving

District VI
Jessica Plant, Minnesota - swimming & diving
Noora Raty, Minnesota - ice hockey
Kimberly Dinh, Wisconsin - golf
Kendall Schmidt, Wisconsin - rowing

District VII
Emily Wong, Nebraska - gymnastics

For the complete list of honorees, click here for men's and here for women's.
Multimedia Store